Rest Day in Owensboro


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Owensboro
June 8th 2018
Published: June 8th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


After a great 48 mile ride yesterday, I arrived at Bob and Barbara Carper’s home,( the parents of Craig Carper). Ever since I arrived, I have been treated to a five star experience at their spectacular home on 89 acres in Eastern Kentucky.

There are two ponds on the property, one with its own cabin; just a small project Bob threw together in his spare time. Their home sits above the larger pond, and the view from the home looks across the pond for miles.

It’s wonderfully relaxing to just sit and gaze out the sun room at the countless birds, and other sights.

Ahhh! It’s going to be hard to leave.

Yesterday, after being treated to a wonderful BBQ dinner at their favorite restaurant, I was given the insiders tour of Owensboro. This city sits on the south side of the Ohio river, just across from Evansville Indiana. There has been a renaissance of urban renewal and the waterfront has a lot going on.

Today has been a lazy day as I plot the next several days ahead. As in the past, there really are no good overnights on the route until reaching Carbondale, Ill in four days.

The Carpers made a call to St. Ann’s Catholic Parish in Morganfield, Kentucky,( tomorrow’s destination), and arranged for me to have accommodations there.

The alternative was a two star motel or camping in the local park, so I am truly grateful for their kind intervention on my behalf.

Bob also drove me over to the Post Office where I sent about 8 lbs of extraneous stuff home.

( I learned from others I have met along the route how much more I have been carrying. Every ounce counts when climbing those 10% grades!)

Once again I feel blessed by the fact that Craig brought it to my attention that his parents home was on my route and arranged for our introduction.

I hope someday I can return the favor.

Some recent milestones are the fact that I just hit 1000 miles on my ride, and crossed into the Central Time Zone.
I’m making progress little by little.

Tomorrow morning I’m of to Marganfield.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Acres of grass to mow on this property.Acres of grass to mow on this property.
Acres of grass to mow on this property.

That is just part of home ownership here in Kentucky


8th June 2018

Looks like home
Bob, I'm jealous. As I might have told you, I grew up in Hopkinsville and college was in Lexington; Jewell's home was Louisville. It looks like your route took you north of home but to a pretty green part of the world. Two summers ago I took my bike back there and enjoyed riding on the country lanes where I grew up. But I cheated as I think the big motor on my bike made the ride a lot easier than the way you are doing it. Hope the rest of your journey is equally rewarding. Stay safe!
9th June 2018

Thanks
Hi Bernie, I don’t know if we ever talked about that. Thanks for telling me now. See you in a couple of months. Bob
9th June 2018

Making progress!
Wow Bob you are really making progress. What an adventure.
9th June 2018

Beauty Everywhere You Are
Love the pictures and I’m glad you took time to rest!
11th June 2018

Congrats on 1K!!
Congratulations on the 1,000 miles - looks like Bryce and I will have to make another sash for you to wear at New Years this year! Glad you're finding good company along the way. Love you

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb