Going Rogue! 73 miles, 2700feet


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Marion
June 10th 2018
Published: June 10th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Robert CarperRobert CarperRobert Carper

I left their home feeling like family.
I’m writing this just 12 miles from crossing into Illinois over the Cave In Rock Ferry.

I announced in yesterday’s blog that my destination was Morganfield.....until it wasn’t.
Morganfield is about 15 miles north of the Trans America route. I chose it as my destination because there was no place to stay between my start at the Carpers home and Marion where I am now, about a 75 mile bicycle ride.

About the time I reached the spot where I was to leave the Trans Am trail for Morganfield, I felt so good I decided to gut it out and ride to Marion. What the heck!

I arrived in Clay, just 22 miles from Marion feeling great!

What I never considered was the heat,( 98 degrees “real feel”), the headwinds,(7-9mph), and the mostly uphill ride to Marion.

The hills were the irritating type of constant up and down all the way to Marion. Add the heat, the headwind, and lack of water,( I ran dry five miles short), and the last five miles were a real struggle.

I dragged myself into Marion desperate for a cold drink. Entering town, I saw a coke machine and
Barbara CarperBarbara CarperBarbara Carper

I could not have asked for a more gracious hostess.
immediately gulped a 20 oz bottle of cold water. Wow was that fantastic!

Then I passed a McDonalds and consumed a large slurpee!

Finally, somewhat hydrated again, I was able to find a motel to rest my weary bones and get out of the looming rain clouds.

Good decision because it started raining shortly after I entered my room.

After a pizza, and lots of water, I finally feel pretty good.

There are not a lot of pictures today since the scenery was a repeat of the last few days.

Tomorrow I will be in Illinois.






Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

My road today.My road today.
My road today.

Up and down, especially the last 10 miles
I had a great lunch at Marv’s PlaceI had a great lunch at Marv’s Place
I had a great lunch at Marv’s Place

Located in Clay Kentucky


10th June 2018

Rogue!?!?
Bob!!!! Gooooood golly you crazy man! Sounds like a remarkable gutty kind of day. Cheers to lots of agua fresca in the hours and miles to come. Congrats on breaking 1000 and to all the good souls who are showing you and all of us just what really makes this country so marvelous: the kindness of humanity! Much love. Keep on peddling Chelle
10th June 2018
Robert Carper

New look
Love the new look, can we call you “grey bead”

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb