White Mills to Rough River Campground


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky
June 6th 2018
Published: June 6th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Today was an unremarkable day.

Since I went longer than planned yesterday I had a shorter day today.

Yesterday after I published my blog, the White Mills Firehouse became a very busy place.

A young couple, late 20’s I would guess, stopped in about 9pm after spending the day riding their bikes and tasting Burbon. They were ready to party and one of the volunteer firefighters was there to oblige.

He backed out the fire truck and allowed everybody to run the firehouse. Then we all got to use the Jaws of Life.

After that the kids were up until 1am talking and having fun. I was polite and tried to be a good sport.
It sure made me feel my age. I just wanted to go to bed.

They were planning on doing another 80 miles today. Oh to be young again!

Finally lights went out around 1am and I had a restless night until sunrise when I decided to get on the road.

Pedaling a bike is much more difficult when one is tired.

I’m stopped here at Rough River Campground as planned and was very relieved to be done.

I just hope I get a better nights sleep tonight.

Until tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



8th June 2018

Been reading your blog daily or as often as you post. This ride is monumental!! Everyone is in awe of your adventure. Everyone talks about it. Be safe!
8th June 2018

Thanks
Thanks Tom. It’s just and extended RAGBRAI without the beer at the end.

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb