Ready To Go


Advertisement
Published: May 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.

-Ralph Waldo Emerson

Well everybody, I guess that technically today is the big day. Today is the day that I leave the protection/confines of home and head out looking for the danger/adventure of the great Out There. My truck is packed and there's really no reason for me to be awake right now (5 short hours before I'm planning on leaving) except that I'm incredibly excited and ready to go.

Tomorrow (technically today) is going to be a tough day driving. I am planning on attempting to go all the way to a National Monument in NE New Mexico from Louisville KY (I forget the name of that monument, but I have it circled on a map. Volcanoes I think...). I'm going alone instead of with a friend as I previously thought due to circumstances beyond my control, but that means that I get to be more independent as far as where I go, how long I stay there, and all that other stuff that you get to figure out on a road trip. If all goes according to plan, I should get to see (at least partially) 4 National Monuments, 8 National Parks, and a couple National Forests, as well as some other neat places like Dodge City, Flagstaff, Las Vegas, and Denver. I will try to keep this blog updated whenever I have the chance, but there's a very real possibility that I won't have the opportunity to (or want to spend the time) doing this during my whirlwind Parks tour.

I'm excited to see all of the people who I might be able to see during this trip, but due to the ever-changing nature of it please please please call me in the next day or two (502-235-8184) if you are already planning on hooking up with me sometime or you think that maybe we could so that we can straighten that out.

To all the friends and family that I'm leaving in Kentucky or elsewhere who I won't see for a while, feel free to come visit wherever I happen to be. I'd love to see you.

To all the friends who I will be seeing in the near future either at NOLS or during transit, I can't wait.

Let the adventure begin!

-SoarPheat (formerly known as Chris)

Advertisement



14th May 2007

And he's off...............
Chris, You're absolutely right - let the adventure begin!! Take good care of yourselfn see lots of wonderful things and meets lots of interesting people. And remenmber that Mom and I are always behind you 110%! Love, Dad (And Prusik is doing well)

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0876s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb