Home at Last


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Lexington
October 23rd 2017
Published: October 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

We arrived at the airport Monday with plenty of time for our 9:15pm flight, so we stopped at the pub for a beer, walked around the shopping area, went to the bathroom, got water for the flight, charged our devices, got another beer, had something to eat, went back to the bathroom, stopped off at the charging area to top off our devices…etc, etc, etc. We even started watching the security folks until they gave us the “stink eye” and then we headed to the bathroom again. Finally, it was ready to board. This would be a short flight to London where we would layover and stay the night at the IBIS hotel. The hotel was small, and fairly inexpensive, but they made it up on the breakfast…$27…ouch! And it was terrible.

Our flight didn’t leave until about 10am but it took all our time to get to the airport from the hotel. But we finally made the flight and we were off to the US. We booked out flights through British Airlines but flew American to Spain. We flew British Airlines back to Chicago. They truly understand the American traveler or at least this American traveler. At 10k feet (and YES I can say feet now, Kevin, since we are headed to the US) the wine started flowing. I asked how much wine one person could have and the stewardess said there was no limit. I tested that statement…it’s true.

We finally arrived home late Tuesday night and hit the sack. The next day I headed to Verizon to buy a new phone. I can’t believe it, but the trip to Spain cost less than a cell phone and calling/data package. I did splurge and bought a Note 8. It has everything on it that you could possibly have. It makes coffee, does laundry, and cooks breakfast. AND it came with a really nice box. AND I mean a really nice box. I began to have buyer’s remorse and started to take the phone back. But I knew I would have to give up the box; so I kept it.



It has taken us about 4 days to get over the jet lag but I think we have recovered. We are now looking forward to our next trip.

Advertisement



24th October 2017

Welcome back
Welcome back from your Spanish adventure. So sorry about the phone spoiler. As a great friend of mine reminds me from time to time "Be aware of your environment and act accordingly." ???

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb