Winds died at last! 80 miles/ 2060 total


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas
June 30th 2018
Published: June 30th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Lunch with several of the Adventure Cycling GroupLunch with several of the Adventure Cycling GroupLunch with several of the Adventure Cycling Group

Nancy our server took the picture for us
This will be short. I am truly camping with no electrical power. My phone has limited battery.

Today I got on the bike very early and plowed into the usual strong headwinds.

I had lunch at the Dighton Diner with several of the Adventure Cycling Group. Nobody seemed to know that this diner existed, so it was a real treat for us all.

The server Nancy was very nice and bent over backwards to make everyone happy.

Once lunch was complete, we all got on the bikes and realized the wind had settled down to a light breeze and I flew to Scott City.

Although I had intended to spend the night there, I just could not stop when the winds were so favorable. So instead I hooked up with a young fellow named Conner and we yacked and passed time for the next twenty miles until reaching Leoti. 80 miles today.

I am currently in the City Park roughing it at last.

My objective now is to head for Colorado tomorrow a mere 37 miles away. I will also enter the Mountain time zone.

It will be nice to be in Colorado.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Conner and I rode a very fast 23 miles together Conner and I rode a very fast 23 miles together
Conner and I rode a very fast 23 miles together

He decided to continue on and do a 140 mile day.
Historical Marker along the way.Historical Marker along the way.
Historical Marker along the way.

It points out that George Washington Carver grew up nearby.


1st July 2018

So proud of you Bob. Keep pedaling. I know having someone to chat with always helps the miles add up faster. When Dee and I went across the US, we met up a few times with the Adventure Cycling group that was doing the same trip . Always fun to chat about the adventure. You Go Bob ??
1st July 2018

Conversation is good!
Malena, It is always so good to hear your cheerful and upbeat comments. They mean a lot! Hugs, Bob

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0651s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb