Going South for the Summer


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas » Lawrence
July 27th 2006
Published: July 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It is too hot for me here in Kansas so...
I am going back to Costa Rica.

I know, that sounds backwards, but it really is cooler there than it is here. My reason for going is more professional than anything. I have been given an incredible opportunity to do some independent consulting work in the Guanacaste region of Costa Rica. I have been asked to be the primary designer on what my client hopes will be an example of how to build in a way that is not detrimental to the environment. In his words:

We are convinced small, environmentally smart and economically self-sufficient communities will be a growing market trend in the 21st century. Pueblo Verde will be the first of what we hope are many such eco-villages in central America.



The place that we are creating will be called Pueblo Verde (Green Village) and is directly connected to an institute that demonstrates sustainable agriculture called El Centro Verde, or The Green Center.

I am excited about this opportunity and have commited to a two month stint with them. I will be keeping you informed of some of what I'm doing there in future blog entries. Following my two month stay, we will figure out how I can contribute to the project from then on.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0779s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb