08 Effie’s 100K mile Engine Service


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas » Kansas City
December 14th 2008
Published: December 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The whole Harley Mom travel blog has been about trips with my 2005 Harley Sportster Effie. With only a few exceptions, well, this one really blog isn’t about traveling either, but about the motor service done on her at 107,000 miles. Effie’s extended warranty is running out at the end of FEB 09. She was seeping oil from about every gasket that was used on the motor. So as the weather turned cold, but before she was snowed into the shed she stays in, I thought I should get her into the guys so they can do their miracle work. She has over 107,000 miles on her at this time.

On Monday I had sometime and thought to go check up on her. She had been in the shop for a couple weeks and I had not heard anything. Adam said that she was indeed seeping oil and they were fixing her up! I was welcome to go take a look. I did, then I went and got my camera to take some pics.

The motor was torn down and they were in the process of smoothing out the heads where the valves seat. The valves were worn and had formed grooves. Attached are the before and during pics.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb