Just over 2 hours away now!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Iowa » Cedar Falls
June 2nd 2009
Published: June 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone!

I'm back in Iowa safe and sound from my trip to Colorado. It was a great week with Francisco, what a beautiful state it is.....(Can't wait to see the mountains of southern chile now!)

The hours are slowly winding down for me to fly! It's midnight, and I leave for the Cedar Rapids airport at 3am. My lovely mother and Aunt Darla are the lucky crazy ladies who are going to give me a ride bright and early. I fly to atlanta, to lima peru, to tacna, then bus to arica. It will be a long 26 hours of traveling/layovers....but so worth it 😊

Just a little update, last week I learned the hard reality of foreign taxes. My art supplies arrived safely in my host family's house, but they were charged an additional $250US to receive them! YIKES! I was really upset at first, but I realize now that it's a lesson I've learned and I should remember how blessed I am to have the support I have in this project from the Curris and Guillaume awards. Without their assistance and support it wouldn't be possible. Now I just have added determination to produce a large amount of work this summer. 😊

I will try to send an update sometime Wed or Thurs to let you all know I arrived safely, but I don't know when I'll first get to my computer. Just remember that with me, no news is good news because I'm having too much fun to type 😉

I can't wait to be back in Arica. My friends and family there are eager to celebrate my return as well as Siete De Junio (June 7), a local holiday!!

If any of you want to send me love via snail mail, you can send it to me at
Amy Martens
1454 Andres Bello
Arica, Chile

Take care! More news to come (and pictures!)

Besitos y abrazos a todos. Que esten super bien.

Advertisement



2nd June 2009

YEAH!!
I'm so excited to hear about your adventures and all of your t-shirt stories while you are there! Take care Ames and I can't wait to skype you and hear all about it!! Luv you NAFTA :)
2nd June 2009

Blessings
May the Lord bless you and keep you. May His face shine upon you and give you peace. Blessings for safe travels!
2nd June 2009

have fun!
i'm already excited to read these updates! :) i'll also be sending weekly updates from tokyo this summer, if you would like added to my e-mail list just let me know! i cannot wait to read more of your adventures! have a safe and blessed time, know you're in my thoughts and prayers!

Tot: 1.267s; Tpl: 0.035s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 1.1935s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb