A email from my director for the summer!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Iowa » Cedar Falls
May 23rd 2008
Published: May 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yokoso Counselors!
My name is Aimee Ladd and I will be your director for Panther Cubs at the American Embassy! I hope you are all excited as I am for the summer ahead! Last year, I was a day camp counselor at the Embassy where I had a fabulous experience working with the children and staff. As well as devoting much of my time and energy to camp, I did my fair share of venturing through Tokyo experiencing and learning about the Japanese culture. Each day was a new experience, from the crammed subway rides to the fried octopus balls there’s always something turning your head. By the end of the summer I had a heart-felt appreciation for the people and their culture. So, please feel free to ask me any questions you have about camp, living in Tokyo, or whatever else may be on your mind!
I just returned from Iowa where I spent a week in directors’ training! I know that together we will make this one of the BEST summers for everyone: campers, parents, our POC, and most importantly YOU! By combining our strengths, creativity, and enthusiasm we will create a very memorable program for children, so get ready to make MAGIC a reality!

A little about me:
After four years in college, I will be graduating this June from the University of Oregon with a bachelor’s degree in economics and a minor in business. However, I still have no idea what I want to be when “I grow up”... What I do know is that I love to travel, experience new cultures, and make children smile! Last summer was my first experience with Camp Adventure and I’m telling you, I am so EXCITED to be returning to the Embassy. In the Fall, I will continue my work with Camp A this time with an internship in Germany. During my breaks from school, I volunteer at a local elementary school working in the classroom with children of all ages. I also love to cook and experiment with melding flavors of different cultures. With a brother in Connecticut, a sister and nephew in Hawaii and my parents in Oregon, I’m often traveling from one end of the country to the other, as spending time with my loving family is a very big part of my life.

Camp Information:
- Camp will be held at the Embassy Housing Compound where many of the American Embassy employees live. There are three camps at the Embassy, Panther Cubs (ages 3-5) is held in two of the preschool classrooms, day camp (ages 6-12) is held in the community center, and aquatics which is at the pool on site. In total there will be 12 Camp Adventure staff: 4 counselors for both day camp and panther cubs, 1 aquatics counselor, and a director for each program.

- Our first week in Tokyo will be spent in training and setting up the centers. During training we will go over expectations, camp procedures, and programming.

- We will all be staying at the New Sanno Hotel, a US Military/Government hotel in Tokyo. Visit their website at http://www.thenewsanno.com. Each of us will share a room with one other person. The hotel is about a 25 minute walk from the hotel (including a subway ride) to the housing compound where camp is held. You will be given a subway pass to be used for commuting to work. The hotel is located in a great neighborhood with easy access to the rest of the city through their transit system.

Aimee’s vision for the summer...
As I mentioned earlier, I know that together we can create magic moments for children each and everyday! These moments will be created if each of us brings a positive, enthusiastic attitude to camp each day. Camp Adventure is about caring adults interacting with children and youth in meaningful ways that are unique, empowering, and make a positive, lasting impact on their lives. Our camp will be a safe, inviting place for children to learn and grow as individuals as they interact with you and their fellow campers. With each of us applying our skills, knowledge, creativity, leadership, and experiences we will engage children in an excellent summer program. Camp Adventure is a family and together we will support one another’s challenges and triumphs!

Some things to PACK...

- CAMP A uniform (don’t forget those tall socks!) and a one-piece swimsuit for pool time. ***Please be in full uniform for your arrival into Japan (Camp A black warm-up pants + camp t-shirt is ok, too). This is so our Point of Contact can identify us once we arrive at the airport***.

- Tokyo can get very humid and HOT, so pack light clothes that you will be comfortable in. However, some evenings may be cool...in which case bringing a couple pairs of jeans or pants is advisable.

- Tokyo can be rainy during the first part of the summer, so you may want to pack a small umbrella.

- If you are planning to climb Mt. Fuji, bring a headlamp! Many of the counselors who climbed last year found it extremely beneficial for their climb (especially if you want to do the night climb to reach the summit for SUNRISE!!!)

- Each of the hotel rooms has a DVD player, so if you have some favorite flicks, you may want to bring those along!

- Bring your certifications (CPR, first aid and life-guarding) and your passport with you

What I need from you (as soon as possible):

· Your parents/emergency contact information
· Your date of birth
· Bios about yourself. This info will be used in our weekly newsletter sent home to campers. Please include your experience with Camp Adventure and working with children, your hobbies/interests, education, future plans, etc.
· Any important info that you feel I should know about
· At least three goals that you have for the summer
· What do you want to get out of this camp adventure experience?

Once again, feel free to ask any questions. I am here to support you and to help you be prepared for the summer. Don’t forget to bring an open mind, great attitude, and BIG MAGICAL IDEAS!

Aimee Ladd
(503) 348-8506
aladd@uoregon.edu



Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb