German Haus (Real Thing!)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Indiana » Indianapolis
February 8th 2015
Published: February 8th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Winter can put damper on taking an excursion because nobody wants to drive in snow and cold weather! After pulling the covers over my head and pouting from boredom, my hubby came to the rescue saying "Get up! Get Dressed! I'm taking you somewhere.". Of course I grumbled all while slipping into a pair of jeans and a sweater. He wouldn't tell me anything other than it was going to be "like going to memory lane"., 15 minutes later we pulled up at the German Haus off of Pedleton Pike. It doesn't look impressive from the outside and I told myself just to go with the flow because the hubby was putting an effort to save me from myself. However, when we walked in and I saw the ladies dressed in traditional German festival attire, I relaxed and started giggling. First, because we met each other by being stationed in Germany 13 years ago so that's what he meant by "memory lane". Second, all the kitsch decorations of gnomes and hand painted ornaments from the ceiling took away my boredom. When you walk in may assume its just a bakery with a coffee counter but when you actually get in further you realize there is so much more to the building and its full with European treats! There are rooms to reserve in the back. We found a table and ordered a plate of brats to share. It was Delicious!! Seriously DELICIOUS! The warm potato salad was just like being back at Ramstein and eating at a village restaurant. We ordered the same beverages we had 13 years ago in a cafe, hot chocolate for me an chamomile tea for him. If your looking for Kinder Chocolate, they got it but its not cheap. We bought some stuff to enjoy back home like curry ketchup, kinder chocolate, candies and German salad dressing. The German is not fancy but its very authentic and that's even better in my opinion. I wonder how many people know about this spot?! Its truly a gem to be discovered.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb