No Ghost during the daytime...Don't be afriad!


Advertisement
Published: May 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Visiting a Cementary may sound wierd, especially if you don't have anyone buried there to visit. It can't be that wierd if there are tours for cementaries like in New Orleans. So I must not be that wierd for going to visit Crown Hill Cementary during my day off.

I saw an article in the local paper about it being a place people take their visitors from out of town when they arrive because of its beauty and history facts. The directions I took by my gps led me to to the entrace with the funeral home. A bit embarrissing as a wake was going on and I was in a T-shirt, people glaced in my car with a bit of curiosity as I drove passed to get to the point of the road that leds to all the sites in the cementary. Luckily I printed a map to give myself a guided tour from the Crown Hill website so I did not need to get out to ask about tours during a funeral. That would have been bad!

Getting aroound is super easy. The map has numbers marking allthe historical graves to check out such as the 3rd president of the U.S, Riley who was an author and the childrens hospital founder...his grave is the highest elevation point in Indy. Pennies thrown on his grave are collected still and donated to the hospital. This cemetary invites you to explore it as most graves are made into memorial benches as to cater to a visit. The grounds are keept very nice and the trees add a breeze to the serenity of the place. some of the grave markers are from the 1800's which have intresting readings on how age was recorded or family titles. I enjoyed the self guided tour but would love to come back on a ghost tour which they do offer. I hope others go check it out, its not scary at all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0666s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb