City Market INDY


Advertisement
Published: May 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

City Market is a pretty cool lil trip near by circle city. It definitly provides you with a variety of lunch choices and that was the main reason I went...FOOD!! Yep, no surprise if you read any previous blogs by me, I love to try new food everywhere I go. I am being surprised by Indy everyday on the food side. I'm surprised it hasn't been talked about in many travel forums that Indy has a vast pool of really good eats to sample. However I have discovered the Hoosiers may be hiding their gems on purpose. Thats just my opinion anyway.

The City Market is small compared to other city markets but you still get to meet Hoosier local specialties which is the point of a city market. There are two levels, the tables to eat and view the bustle below is upstairs. The lower level is where all the vendors are. We went during lunchtime and after walking in circles decided to try a sandwich at the Fermenti Artisan because the U-Relish stand suggested their cured sausage for her croc pot stews. U-relish has packages of ready to throw in your croc pot dinners packaged for purchase. We purchased a cocunut curry soup to try in the future. Whats special about the stand is they use organic ingreidents that support local farms in the area. They have cheeses and meats to buy as well as sandwiches and salads for lunch. I can't remeber the name of my sandwich but it was unique, it had freshly pickled vegetables on it that reminded me of a milder version of the asian Kimchi. It was on a delicious crunchy bread with turkey and although I enjoyed it my husband did not care for it. However, he enjoyed the grilled cheese sandwich from the same place very much. We both appreciated the craft of what they were producing as we watched the staff from the second level take time to peel the ginger and carrots that goes into the pickling mix.

After eating we took a walk to see the war memorial that is the ceter of downtown. on the way back to the parking garage we saw the Indy tribute to Elvis. I didnt realize this was where he performed his last concer. The hankerchief is supposed to be buried in a time capsule within the tribute marker. I'm not a Elvis fan but it was cool to read because who doesn't know the presence of Elvis and his fame.

Quick and easy outing for the day, one more stop on seeing Indy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb