Roadtrek Rally Newbie


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Indiana » Goshen
September 11th 2017
Published: September 12th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I've had my Roadtrek for four years and have driven over 23,000 miles through rolling hills, plains, and deserts, up mountains, into cities and through small towns. So when I saw the listing for the 2017 Roadtrek International Chapter Rally in Goshen, Indiana, I signed up. I stopped Sunday in Naperville, Illinois, for birthday cake and a visit with Aunt Milda, then dinner, dominoes, and a comfortable bed at Matt & Laura's. This morning, after a stop at Dunkin Donuts, I drove south to I-80, then east on the Indiana Tollway to Exit 92: Elkhart. This area is Amish County with several small towns, shops, restaurants, farm fields. Our home for the rally is the campgrounds at the Elkhart County 4-H Fairgrounds in Goshen. I pulled in just-in-time for registration where, as a first-timer or newbie, I received my official Roadtrek International badge and rally pin. There are 72 Roadtreks of various ages and models parked here which is really eye-catching as the most I have ever seen on a trip is three. We had a meet-and-greet at 5:00 p.m. I sat on a bench and was quickly approached by Julie, a member of the Solo Roadtrek Club, who introduced me to other solos and invited me to join them for dinner. Dinner was pasta, meatballs, salad, relishes, rolls, cake - all fine for catered food - followed by a performance by Cahal Dunne, an Irish musician with a wide selection of vocal and piano. I headed back to RT as it was getting dark. Settled in, opened a bottle of wine, watched TV.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb