NPR


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois
March 19th 2012
Published: March 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I am only one in 7 billion people living on this planet. It is hard to describe the magnificence of our mighty world. As a child, I was fascinated by the pictures on the cover of National Geographic: the astonishing images of indigenous tribes in Brazil and nomads in Mongolia inspired me to travel around the world! Because of these inspiring images that sparked my curiosity, I have been motivated to study abroad.

During the summer of 2011 at a French language camp, I learned Irish slangs from the rugby boys, meditation from my Lebanese roommate, and pizza making from my Italian friends. The lifelong friendships I made were incredibly rewarding because these interactions with others strengthened my knowledge about different people and cultures. Even though there was a language barrier, I still embraced and adapted to the new culture by learning about different traditions as part of my learning curriculum.

After I was introduced to many new ideas and things, I began to question more and became curious about the things around me and the world I live in.One month in France opened my eyes. This experience influenced my personal and world views. I became more accepting to different beliefs and ideas by learning more about them.



We would not have understood the theory of general relativity if Einstein did not question Newton’s law of gravity. If Charles Darwin did not go out and explore nature, we would not have understood the idea of evolution. These people’s curiosity changed our society and the way we live.

Curiosity inspires me to travel abroad to different places to learn beyond the classroom, and it is a way to challenge my own boundaries. I want to know what the feelings are stepping on top of Machu Picchu, waving to the Great Sphinx of Giza, or walking through the ancient history of Angkor Wat. Don’t let things stop you from chasing your dreams because they are also a part of your experience.



Curiosity is the key to a fulfilling life. While you discover new things, you might be learning more about yourself at the same time. Life is short, so let curiosity drive the direction of your life by then you will not have regrets in your life because you will have answered all your questions about this world.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb