Rihla # 18 (Locale influences)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois
February 14th 2012
Published: February 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

In order to reinforce the idea that location influences a person's actions, you will be responsible for interviewing an adult based upon the following questions:

Part One (The Interview):

1. Name of Interviewee: Juan Meza



2. Relationship to Interviewee: Father



3. Decade of Choice: 1963-1973



4. Describe the environment in which you lived for that decade.

This decade is Juan Meza's is the first in his life. He lived on a farm where poverty was immense among all neighbors. His home was very humble and was not a part of the technological advancement that was occuring. Meza's home was among hills and trees.

5. What major activities did you participate in?

Meza participated in any activity that a child would during the first ten years of his life. Because he did not have money to buy toys, he would make his own sling shots and pretend his shoe was a car. At a young age, children would work to support the family. Meza would take the cattle and goats so they could feed on the grasslands. He would spend nearly the entire day doing this. He would not go to school because he was obligated to help his family.

6. What were the major social issues of that decade?

During this decade, social issues were really not of importance. Unjust things would happen, but people would do nothing about it mainly because nothing could be done. Some of the major social issues was poverty, lack of education, and discrimination against women.

7. What was the biggest turning point for you during that decade? Why?

The biggest turining point of the decade for Meza was not because of a global or local event. The turning point happened within him. He realized that the life that he had was not meant for him. From the age of 7, he knew that he did not want to live in an area where he always had to scrounge for food and be forced to give up his weeks worth salary. Knowing and realizing the talent he had for math, he decided to leave his home a few years later. Becuase of this, he came to the united states and enrolled himself in college. Knowing very little English, he was still at the top of his class in all subject areas.

Part Two (Your Reflection):

1. In your own words, do you think that location has influenced this person’s actions? If so, explain.

Location definately influenced Juan Meza's actions. Being in a place where resources are scarce and everyone does little to nothing to better themselves, he wanted to rise above all odds. In my opinion, those who suffer as children, tend to aspire bug goals. Of course, this is not all cases, but from what I have observed, my opinion holds true. To explain I will use American(students born in America, not just White students) students as an example. In my neighborhood especially, I see youth that do not appreciate the value of education and much less the value of faith. Having more resources and opportunities than their parents, many young people do not put forth all of their effort into bettering themselves. I am guilty of this at times as well. However, many young people who are not from the United States or who have had a rough life tend to take their education more seriously. This holds true for Juan Meza. The life style he was born into gave him a mind set that may not have been existed if he did not live the harsh life he did as a child.

2. Do you think your location within the last decade of your life has influenced your actions? Explain.

My location has definately influenced my actions. I am not able to pinpoint exactly how. All I am aware of is that it has confused me. First, I consider school to be a part of my location just as my neighborhood is. I am told to do one thing in school, but in my neighborhood, I see things that oppose what I am taught in school. I see the importance of getting a college education and giving back to my community, but how much can a person do if the community does not want your help? Should I take my time to help those who refuse?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb