I Love All My Children the Same


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois
September 20th 2010
Published: September 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

This is just ridiculous. I know it. I would hate me too if I weren't...well...me. But I swear, this is gonna be it for awhile. I realize I say that after every trip and then, next thing I know, there's another once-in-a-lifetime opportunity tossed in my lap (and on my AmEx). I'm starting to think I don't believe in once-in-a-lifetime experiences anymore. You see, they keep happening, like upwards of three times a year and every time I think, "Wow! This is going to be the big one!" I'm typically home three weeks and then I get itchin' to do something else. I've been home from India longer than three weeks and let me tell ya, it's about time for me to pack up and head out again.

As far as India goes...yes, it was amazing. Everytime I return from a trip someone asks me, "So what's your favorite place you've been?" Hmmm. My dad asked me this in the car on the way home from the airport. India wasn't the best trip I've taken. I think that's what he was expecting me to say. Its kind of like a parent picking their favorite child. First of all, if you have a favorite, you'd never admit it. Each child is unique and special in their own way and offer their own perspective to the family. As corny as this sounds, that's how I feel about the places I've gone. How can you say you love Machu Picchu more than the Taj Mahal, sipping coffee in Paris over eating curry in Delhi (ok, this is an easy one for many people), a safari in the Serengetti over snorkeling in Zanzibar, or driving Highway 1 along the Oregon coast than hugging Mickey Mouse with your kids at Disney World? You just can't choose one. It wouldn't be fair to the others.

Here's some things I've learned:

1. Ireland has nicest people, on a whole, that I have ever met.

2. The English are much nicer to pregnant women than the French.

3. Every third world country I've traveled to, I'm treated like a rock star.

4. India really is as hot as you think it would be.

5. Toilet paper is over rated.

6. Its not fun to be stranded in a closed down, dark, Parisian subway train.

7. Everything costs more than you think it will.

8. Hot showers are a luxury not to be taken for granted.

9. Everyone in Rome loves me.

10. I'm glad I've got someone to pay for all this.

So I'm taking all these things I've learned and hitting the airways yet again. On Tuesday I'll be visiting another one of my "children."

Stay tuned.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.019s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb