Second Day in Nauvoo


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois
June 16th 2005
Published: June 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Thursday, June 16, 2005
Keokuk, IA
It was a long day, or at least it felt like it after two days of mostly being in the bus. We got off today at 8am and went directly to Old Nauvoo. We stopped briefly at the Temple Quarry for a quick pic, then to the head of the Trail of Hope. Gordon had us pair up and started us off every few minutes to give us time to pause and read and reflect at each one without (ideally) others bunching around or rushing each other. Well, since Mona and I had skipped part of the riverside sunset show the night before to do the same thing on the Trail, we snuck off and toured a little bit of the nearby restored buildings. We mostly took pictures, since most of the sites don’t open til 9, but we did get a brief tour of the Seventies Hall. The missionaries have their prayer meeting there each morning, so it was the first building staffed immediately afterward. I enjoyed that building, and the Sisters there were (like all of them, of course), very courteous and informative.
After the group finished the Trail walk, we gathered in the Pioneer memorial to see the names of those who perished on the trail, and we sang “Come, Come Ye Saints”. It was very tacky to do so, but I stood behind Gordon just outside the pavilion and videotaped the group singing.
Afterward, we were unleashed for the rest of the morning to do our own exploring around Old Nauvoo. What a great experience. I would love to come back here for a week and really soak it all up. We strolled along almost randomly and identified the spots on the map and I took pictures of most of the sites, even the ones I barely knew. We spent some time in Lucy Mack Smith’s home, and had a neat visit with the Sister Funk there. We also went back down to the blacksmith/wainwright shop where Elder Nielsen showed us wheel making, then blacksmithing. We all got to take a “prairie diamond” ring, and since I stumbled my way through the first couple lines of Longfellow’s “The Village Blacksmith”, I got the miniature horseshoe he made for us.
We also stopped by the brickmaker shop, and listened to the tour and got a fine miniature Old Nauvoo brick. Of course, it wasn’t fun lugging it around in my pocket the next few hours (including a lot of hot dry walking).
After a couple other places, and meeting up with the Crums, Mona decided to make her way with them toward the town center where the group would meet for lunch, while I stayed behind. I skipped lunch so I could get in as much time as possible exploring and touring the historic district. We had our walkie-talkies, so we were able to keep in contact for the most part.
I got a picture of an oxen team wagon, visited Lucius Scovil’s bakery and heard his neat missionary story and got a little ginger snap. I also visited the Family Living Center and learned candle-making, bustle oven bread baking, and a little rope tying. After a few other pictures (I took a record 145 today), I made my way up the hill toward the temple. I stopped very briefly in the Temple visitor’s center, and got a picture of the Joseph Smith Academy, where Kayli Decker will attend this fall on a BYU travel semester. I greatly envy her! I tried to find a few gifts for the family, particularly Mom and Avery, and walked up the road to find Mom’s friend, Angela Walker, at the Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites. It was quite a hike—I’m glad Mona was eating lunch at Dottie’s—and it turns out they don’t run it anymore, having moved about two years ago to Idaho.
I met up with Mona and we met the group for dinner again at the Hotel Nauvoo, and again I ate too much. The culprit is the cinnamon roll muffins at the head of the entrée buffet line! They have no business being there, and they are so soft and sweet, and there are two kinds: white iced and cinnamon sugar iced. After eating as much as I can, I still can’t resist having another of those—Augh!
We had a few minutes left to shop, so we bought a couple little things, and then got on the bus to the Nauvoo Visitor’s Center to watch “High Hopes and Riverboats”. I was very impressed with the talent, as the entire production is created and presented by missionaries, and the presentation, which was very professional. I especially enjoyed the audio. Every speaking part had a wireless mike running over their scalp and sticking out their hairline—I’ve never seen that before! It was mostly discreet, and very effective. These “performing missionaries” are here for the summer and do five shows a day, I believe we were told.
Afterward, we drove to Carthage. I regret we didn’t have more time here, and that it was so late and dark. But, Sister Sanders, from Keizer, was our guide, and I believe she is the best so far. Very confident and friendly, her presentation was both touching and charming, and very instructive. Of course, a lot of us know a lot about that story, but she kept up with all of our questions, and is evidently well-read on the topic. After the tour, we gathered outside to sing, “God Be With You”, and had several of the group share their testimonies. Pres. Blunk impressed me with his, and on the bus afterward I asked him about his conversion, and he happily shared his story with us. It was very inspirational and I his life recalled Joseph Smith’s in several ways.
We got a little scare, as Gordon was contacted by the hotel that Sam Hutchinson, an elderly Irish fellow on the group that is a kick and we all love, had stayed back at the hotel, and had felt bad enough that the hotel staff took him to the hospital, where he was admitted into Emergency, and eventually released with a prescription of some medication that he currently takes, but didn’t bring with him on the trip. Apparently, he is fine now.
We had some great conversations with Kyle and Melissa Garfield, a newlywed couple from Utah. Kyle is Gordon’s nephew, and has been on the trip before. We have made fast friends with them already.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0757s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb