Kentucky to Illinois via Ferry!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois
June 10th 2018
Published: June 10th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Additional maps: Untitled

Cave In Rock FerryCave In Rock FerryCave In Rock Ferry

Crossing the Ohio River from Kentucky to Illinois
Two states down, eight to go!

Wow! That sounds like I have barely started!

Now that Kentucky is behind me,I must reflect:

Sitting behind my handlebars, Kentucky was really two diverse regions.

East of Berea, the Appalachian Mountain region dictated the severe up and downs, the hollows between the hills, and a lot of apparent poverty.
This is coal country and our Nation’s movement away from Coal has devastated the Eastern Kentucky economy.

West of Berea, Kentucky was flatter but never level, mostly grazing land and to the east it was mostly farm lands. I saw, hay, corn, soy beans and tobacco.
It seems a ride on lawnmower is as ubiquitous as a dishwasher in these parts. Lawns are beautiful and freshly mowed everywhere in western Kentucky.

If you are considering riding the Trans Am Bicycle Route, you had better be OK with hills, because nothing so far has been flat!

Today was a continuation of the ups and downs I have encountered for several days now. It’s not knee busting hills like Eastern Kentucky, but the hills never end.

I crossed the Ohio River into Illinois on the Cave In Rock free
Last look at Kentucky Last look at Kentucky Last look at Kentucky

Looking back down the road prior to the Ferry Landing.
ferry. Also on board were a group of Harley riders and a diesel Fuel Truck.

Once in Illinois the route paralleled the river and there were several overlooks where one can watch the continuous boat traffic from coal barges to fishing boats. Even today the Ohio is a major source of transportation.

I am now in Golconda, a town on the river with several restaurants and bars.

The motel tonight is very impressive. (The Unity Lodge.) They have remodeled the rooms to bring them up to modern standards.

It is only about 60 miles to Carbondale where I will meet up with Bruce Tipton for round two of our adventures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Waiting for the FerryWaiting for the Ferry
Waiting for the Ferry

This is a free Ferry that continually crosses back and forth from 6AM TO 9:60 PM.
I shared the ferry with these Harley drivers.I shared the ferry with these Harley drivers.
I shared the ferry with these Harley drivers.

Note that none of them wore a helmet
Bike stop along the way.Bike stop along the way.
Bike stop along the way.

Thank you Jenkins Family!
I had lunch here in Christenberg.I had lunch here in Christenberg.
I had lunch here in Christenberg.

The Town and Country Restaurant was very good,
Turtle committing suicide!Turtle committing suicide!
Turtle committing suicide!

I rescued countless turtles trying to cross the road at about a centimeter a minute. Hundreds along the way didn’t make it!


10th June 2018

turtles galore
Hey nice beard you're growing! Let's see how long you want it to go!? How wonderful your stay at the Garber's was. I've never seen so many back roads. It's fun to see your views along the way. Ohio river looks interesting and the charming ferry. Lots of red barns. Many here in eastern Seattle too. Thanks for saving the turtles along the way. Amazing there are so many. Glad you'll meet up with your friend again. Keep pumping away!!!
11th June 2018

Still going strong! Thanks for all the pictures and the daily blog! Really enjoyable reading about your adventures each night! Keep 'em coming! It's so cool that Bruce will be riding with you through Missouri. Stay safe!
11th June 2018

Thanks
Hi John, Yes I’m still feeling good but Im hoping to find a decent IPA somewhere. Thanks for checking inn.
11th June 2018
I shared the ferry with these Harley drivers.

Harley Drivers!
Must give Uncle Steve a kick to see this - a Kentucky Harley and Hopper! Congrats on the 2 states down - you're 1/5th of the way there! <3 Bre
11th June 2018

Bearded Turtle Charmer
Gosh, Cuz, I like the beard....so rugged! And a Turtle Savior of sorts! Your talent (and heart) never cease to amaze me! XOX! Your favorite cuz
12th June 2018

Hi Cuz
Wow! You actually had time to send me a note! I am honored.

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb