RIHLA # 22


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
April 9th 2013
Published: April 9th 2013
Edit Blog Post

This story isn't the happiest because this story is about life; my life to be exact. Yesterday, my grandmother was in the emergency room all day. My father, family members, and her arrived not until 2:30 A.M. When I awoke I was still in my UICCP uniform and my book bag lying next to me on my bed. I wanted to stay up and wait for their arrival but sleep caught up with me. Once my cousin carried my grandmother onto her bed and she was settled in I was informed that doctors said my grandmother had had a UTI. This UTI had not been treated for quit some time and had spread all over her body. This infection got to her organs. And it is said that her organs will slowly shut down. I stayed up with my grandmother and took care of her until 6:30 A.M., with the intention to let my dad sleep a few hours. My grandma's name is Paula and she is 96 years old, it is a true blessing. It was horrible to see her in pain, she loses her voice and she can't talk and it is hard for her to communicate to us. Her little blue eyes also move to the corners and sometimes I feel as if she isn't responding. The doctors didn't want my dad to discharge her because they said once they take her off the medicine she would die. I'm glad I stayed after school because if I had gone with them and I heard the doctors say that I would break down. Different people (doctors and nurses) told my dad different due dates, such as, my grandmother would not last 2 hours, 2 days, and 2 weeks. I've never seen my grandmother so bad, and she isn't the same anymore. I love my grandmother we all do, but I know we all are given life to enjoy and end the journey with death. Death is not something I can get over it is the only kind of pain I physically, emotionally, and mentally cannot handle. My grandmother is my world she raised me and what I remember from last night is my cousin saying to me" look at you, grandmother took care of you all your life and now you are taking care of her". I will end here because the thought of life not continuing is an unbearable thought right now in my life. Life is beautiful and precious appreciate it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb