A4 Rihla #21


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
March 7th 2013
Published: March 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hello fellow blogger's!! Today's topic is food!
1. If the new world and the old world had a food smack down, based on the list of food I was given, I think that new world food is better. Yes, the old world has a larger variety and it seems to be healthier because the vegetables listed (well, except the rats); however, the new world food can be transformed to have multiple uses, which is highly beneficial. For example, peanuts (new world) don't always have to be in its shell, it is used for peanut oil and an abundance of other things. Unlike peanuts, beats (old world) can only be used for one thing and that just beats.

2. Journal entry in a native american point of view:
Dear reader,
So, I guess this is my last meal. The Europeans have taken everything from me and my tribe: our gold, our silver, our trust, and our dignity; it's all gone. I know that my tribe is apart of the ten percent of natives remaining. We will soon be wiped out completely. I was trying to think of food that we could eat as our last meal. There was so much to choose from, so I chose to use all of our food. We will have turkey, salsa, guacamole, rice and beans, potatoes, squash, corn; and a side of: pumpkin pie, chocolate cake, strawberry cheesecake, pineapples, sweet potato pie, and sunflower seeds.

3. A family recipe that I chose is arroz con gandules. In a Puerto Rican family, we have this dish very often, every holiday and event. By the way, this is my favorite food on the face of the universe. It has rice, gandules (beans), Goya seasonings, and water. This is more of an old word meal because it has rice and beans in it. Although, the goya seasoning most likely came from the new world because of the spice islands and water came from both worlds.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1004kb