RIHLA #18


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
February 21st 2013
Published: February 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

In the article "IS GPS All in Our Heads?" goes on to talk about how GPS's have made it harder for us to use mental maps our even picture them anymore. Like every other skill if you do not use it you will have a harder time picking it back up again. The more we rely on technology the less reliant we become on ourselves then it makes it even more of a challenge for us to make a mental map. The message I think the article is trying to get across is that we have become to dependent on technology and we are not using as much of our brain as we can when we can.

I was not to surprised when the author of the article claimed that we have become a little to dependent on technology. I do think it is bad though. What I did not notice was While reading the article I do naturally remember landmarks or the specific turns after having gone by them so many times. After reading the article I kind of wanted to go out and find my way around just to see how my mind perceived things and the area round me.

I think we can relate this to class because as time goes on people will become less and less independent on themselves and more reliant on the new technology in their time. Then after becoming for focused on technology this will lead to alot more new advancements.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb