RIHLA #14


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
January 7th 2013
Published: January 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The hero of this story was Leo McCarthy who had lost his 14 year old daughter. He contributed to the world by giving $1000 scholarships to teens who pledged that they would not use any illegal drugs or drink for four years. This was called the Mariah's Challenge. Her challenge has expanded over the years to other states: Washington,Idaho, Iowa and North Carolina. Around 8,000 people have taken up this challenge.

After I had read this article thought I to myself how traggic it must have been losing his daughter to something so senseless. I do think that Leo deserves to be nominated for this award. I think this inccident not only opened his eyes but everyone else around him. He knew what the problem was and he set out to do his best to try and make a change for the best of the community.

I don't think I've really done much to contribute to such a big place. I guess it's the little things that count though right? I for one don't liter and if I see garbage on the floor and there's a garbage can within a feet how can you not pick it up and throw it in the trash? Every little bit counts right?

The great acheivement I would like to make or think would have a great affect is to maybe one day give actual Chicago Public School high students a tase of noble and have them be taught by a noble teacher for a week or two. Maybe help them understand that their high school years are their most important and will influence their future greatly

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb