India's "Untouchables" Face Violence, Discrimination


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
October 8th 2012
Published: October 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

India's "Untouchables" Face Violence, Discrimination







1. This article relates to what we are learning in World History because of how the people that belong to the religious group called Hinduism. Also throughout the passage people that belong to the religious group known as Hinduism are refered to as "Dalits". The phrase untoucables and the caste system are mentioned and relate back to the religion known as Hinduism.







2. I believe different groups of people who were mentioned throughout the passage seen this as a really difficult and horrible time. I can relate this back to the time when the Holocaust had taken place. When I mention the holocaust I refered to how the Germans saw themselves as superior and the Jews as inferior. Having this in mind I believe the group who was on the very top of the caste system believe since they were superior, they have unlimited power and can do whatever they want to others. Why because they were the Royal Family : Kings, Queens, and all their royal subjects.







3. I believe the treatments that were done in India connect back to the treatments that happened throughout United States history because all types of people were hurt and involved. In addition there was always a group of people who saw them saw as superior, and believe they can do what ever they want to others because had unlimited power. Next, everyone had to follow what the higher class said and if they did not they knew that consequences will go along with the decisions they make.




4. What really caught my attention about this article was the type of action that was happening. All of these treatments that were happening to the citizens of India made me picture all those horrible events that I learned about in the past and connect them back to what I read today. I really learned that what happened in these time periods still happens today. I am really suprised that someone has not put an end to this reign of terror. I hope that by some time in the future all of this hate towards society will go away.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.179s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb