Rihla 23


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
March 20th 2012
Published: March 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This I believe



I believe that living in this country we are all blessed with the opportunity of achieving success. The foundation of success begins at an early age when the parents of child enroll their children into a public school. Furthermore from this point specifically, scholars that come from the lower part of the social economic level already have many adversities and misjudgments to surpass.

An example of someone seeking success, at the age 14 my sister became a mother. My family was able to cope and welcome her new family. She had always told me that in this country there are limited empowering role models who are Latinos, so with that she was determined and focused to not only be a role model for daughter but also her community. My sister has received her bachelors degree from Georgetown university and last week she came home to a video of individuals welcoming her to Harvard university where she will be seeking her second Masters in order to become a CPS principal.

There are two main reasons why I believe I am alive. The first reason is to one day be a great husband and father. The second reason is to attend college and became another example in my community of someone being successful. Although, we (latinos) individually are seen as statistics, but when united and determined “we are powerful beyond our own measures” Five years from now I already visualize where I will bee and reflect on how I got there. I see myself in a classroom filled with children with bright smiles ready to began class and learn great things, so that when they achieve success and there live goals they return to our community of hard successful individuals to empower our community and put Pilsen on the map as one of the great communities in Chicago. <!--EndFragment-->

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb