Rihla 23


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
March 20th 2012
Published: March 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Angel Gutierrez



March 19, 2012



World History/ Ms.Held





This I believe... is to be yourself. The most important lesson I have learned in my life is to be able to overcome different obstacles while growing up. I grew up in a neighborhood where teens are faced to go into gangs, alcohol, or drugs. When I was 13 many of my friends were changing on me. I didn't know what to do I was confused growing wasn't sure if I should join in what they were doing or stay with my positive friends. My friends were trying to influence me to do negative things which would be very risky since my parents were strict. My other friends were not into what the other kids were doing and stayed focused in school. My negative friends told me that they were having so much fun and that it was what all the others teens were doing. I wasn't sure if they were right but I knew right from wrong. My bad friends once went out and ended getting shot at by gang members. I'm really glad that I decided not to go along with them and listen to myself. When people are young their are a lot of choices that can impact you in a good or bad way. I am one of those teens that has been through those obstacles and I am glad that my friends didn't get hurt from that drive-by and that they learned their lesson. I learned a lesson to listen to myself and be more surrounded my good friends with great morals. I didn't want to get hurt and since I am a man now I can make my own choices but I can also be influenced by certain types of people, which are positive.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb