Rihla #20


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
February 26th 2012
Published: February 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

How has the Columbian Exchange & Triangle Trade affected current day foods & culture?

I think that cultures have changed because of the trade available. The trade allowed for more substances to be available.

Gelatina de Queso

4 yemas de huevo, 1/2 taza de crema, 1/2 queso crema. 1 lata de leche evaporada, 1 lata de leche condensada, 4 sobres de gelatina sin sabor, 2 tazas de jugo de pina, 1 lata de pina picada, y 1/2 taza de queso rallado.

1. What are the origins of this recipe?

My mother's friend shared it with her since we were little kids. It is not really a family recipe, but everyone always wants my mother to make some. My mom always makes it for special occasions.

2. Does your family in someway identify with this recipe? Why or why not?

I don't think my family identifies with the recipe. We just all really like it. However, I became a vegetarian and cannot eat it anymore. My older brother really enjoys eating the jello.

3. Do you think people should have access to a variety of foods? Why or why not?

I think people should be able to eat as many foods that are avvailable. Exposure to different cultures is essential because it makes a person well rounded. I believe that knowing about other cultures makes a person be able to be open to other people's opinions.

4. In general, do you think food is an important aspect of one’s culture? Explain.

I think food is actually an essential part of a person's culture. A culture is difined by the different things a certain culture does often. Therefore, I believe that the common foods a culture is use to should be important.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0627s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 998.7kb