RIHLA #18


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
February 12th 2012
Published: February 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

1) Miguel Marquina

2) Father

3) 1990's

4) My environments changed drastically. This was the decade when I came to the United States from Mexico. I lived a hard life in Mexico, trying to find a better life in the United States, and the United States offered me a clean and hopefuly environment.

5) I lived in texas for a couple weeks then transitioned to Los Angeles, and finally arrived at Chicago where I found my first job as a chef. Also, I bought my house and car in this time period as well.

6) I remember immigration was not a major social issue in that time. The economy, jobs, and education were more of the big social issues that appeared in the news during that time.

7) Once again, my transition from Mexico to the United States was definitely my biggest turning point of that decade. It was the biggest turning point because my life completely changed. I lived a better life in the United Stated, and I offered my wife and children a better and brighter future.



1) I think that location has influenced my father's personal actions because in the United States he got the opportunity to have a better life, and he took that opportunity. If he was back in Mexico, who knows how his life would be different.

2) I think the location where I have lived at for the last decade has influenced my actions. It has influenced my actions because I live in a environment where education is seen as very important and essential for a brighter future. Many of my neighbors, friends, and people in my community view education as critical, and that is one of ther reasons why I am in UICCP.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb