My "Rocky" Mountain and future mountain ranges


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
January 27th 2012
Published: January 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Alps (near Switzerland)Alps (near Switzerland)Alps (near Switzerland)

“I've learned that everyone wants to live on top of the mountain, but all the happiness and growth occurs while you're climbing it.”
1. Celebrate your history at UICCP: What is a mountain that you think you have climbed since your time here at UICCP? Be specific and explain. What helped you cross this mountain?

A mountain I think I climbed since my time at UICCP was improving my EPA score. I still remember the moment when I received my Explore score because I felt sad and discouraged by the low score. On the other hand, the low score had served as a constant reminder for me to improve. I learned from the score report that a higher score can open me up to more opportunities for me in the future. From the Explore to the Plan then to the ACT, I increased my composite score more than 10 points. Even though these test scores are just plain numbers, they might mean nothing at all now, but they are take into consideration when you apply to college. Therefore, your score can affect the college you get into, then your major, job, career, and future. I always try to motivate my cousin that it is possible to increase your score and be prepare for the real ACT because I did it myself! I prove that it possible that your score can improve dramatically if you work hard enough. However, it takes a LOT to get there. Over these years at UICCP, I have learned that YOU have to study test-taking strategies, take and review sample questions and test, analyze your test score, and re-evaluate strategies as ways to improve on your tests.

2. What immediate mountain is before you in your final semester as a senior? Be specific. How do you plan to tackle this mountain? How do you need help climbing this mountain?

An immediate mounation before me in my final semester as a senior is maintaining my GPA for second semester. Since I had slacked off nearly most of first semester, I realize that I will be on my own in college, and I have to take control in my grades and life. So might as well start now--I am ready to do better this semester in terms of grades and attitude. Second semester GPA is still important because low GPAs might make colleges revoke their decisions (No!). I think the best ways to tackle this mountain are to have a positive attitude 😊 and a well-planned schedule to meet deadlines. I need to get myself back on track to finish strong at the end of the year while enjoying senior year at the same time.


3. Create a mountain! Of course there will be many challenges and responsibilities that come with getting older. But what is a mountain that you want to create for yourself? Why this mountain? How do you plan on tackling it?

A mountain I want to climb is learning more languages. Personally knowing three UN recognized languages, several dialects to one of the most spoken language on the planet, and one "dead" language, I want to challenge myself and my lingusitic skills to learn more! Every time I travel, I feel the more I understand the language, the more I can connect to the culture and people. I know many of my friends are very passionate to teach me about their language, and this can be a great way to bond with a foreign friend! (It is also a way to publicly embarrass yourself for your weird pronunciation, strange accent, and incapability to learn the looong phrases.) A new language offers you a new way to express yourself. Now, before I travel to a new place with a foreign language, I plan to study and learn about the new language and culture in order to enrich my experience and stay. I will try my best to learn greetings, vocab words, commonly answered questions (where is the bathroom?), origin/history of the language, and the structure of the foreign language. People are more willing to help you if you speak their language even if you have an accent or any mistakes because most times, they are happy that you are trying bravely and you're a foreigner!





I

Advertisement



Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb