First Semester World History Refleciton


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
January 17th 2012
Published: January 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

1. What did you most enjoy about your studies thus far? (What most interested you?) Explain.

I enjoy learning about different religions and how they have affected people, culture, values/beliefs, and ways of life the most. Growing up following simple Chinese customs, I am an atheist without hardly any religious history background/knowledge, and my elementary school teachers have been forbidden to teach religion at an public school. Therefore, learning about religions in class clarifies some of my curious questions and also inspires me to learn more. On the other hand, religion plays an important role in people's lives and society, and in some instances, religion is the foundation of some countries/governments. Gaining more knowledge about religion and their influence help me understand different history, groups of people, culture, and ways of live more in depth.

2. What was most challenging for you and why? (This can be a particular topic or assignment, etc…)

The Silk Road Project was most challenging for me because it required a lot of time, effort, research, and beyond. Moreover, this project was something different than we will usually do in this class. It offered me an opportunity to find reliable resources, compile my research, and organize into a presentation. However, I truly enjoyed it very much because it gave me a chance to research and learn about history on my own as an ambitious world history scholar.

3. What do you want to learn more about in semester two?

I want to learn more about European history because it is an important of world history, and I had not had much knowledge about it.

4. What areas for improvement do you want to focus on personally in this class? What could you improve?

I want to personally improve on making new connections and asking more questions to push further my learning. These areas of improvement can help become a better learner.

5. Any additional comments about semester one -

- More debates! The last only debate we had tested our comprehending and debating skills in a world history context. It also provided us a chance to listen and learn from each other, so we can understand things from a different perspective than our own.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb