Rihla #14


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
January 4th 2012
Published: January 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

2011 was a year that had both ups and downs. After analyzing "The 45 Most Powerful Images of 2011" you can see that many natural disasters have occured, remembrances have been made, people have been killed,sexuality has been accepted more, and citizens have stood up and rebelled. Five pictures that really stood out to me were pictures 6 ,10 ,23 ,24 ,and 33.

Picture #6 demonstrates hw the world is changing and becoming more accepting of sexuality. For many years people have had to hide thier sexuality or have been denied thier rights to marriage and this is starting to change. I am a supporter of same sex marriages ,and when I seen the picture it put a smile on my face becuase I was happy for them becuase they probly struggled a lot to finally get married.

Picture #10 looked like it was a snapshot from a movie. I would have never thought dust stroms could really happen outside of "Mission Imposible 4". The city seems so quiet but still functional while it all happened. Was there much disaster due to the dust storm? How did the dust storm occur? Was the air harmful after the storm?

Picture #23 is a statement on its own. It shows how technology is taking over the world, especially social networking sites. I know from personal expirence how social networking sites and technoloogy are affecting people. I know people who spend hours on Facebook and those who take it too seriously. And I also know how with the use of my Ipad (technology) it can be more effective and convinient.

Picture #24 made me sick to my stomach! I felt soo horrible for this woman. They were trying to have a peacful march and the police start to pepper spray people. Why!!?? The protester ment no harm what give the police right to just pepper spray people if they feel like it?! Thank goodness for those two men who helped her or she would have been dead. This picture made me think, we are given the right to protest under the first ammendement. However, the police still attack even when they are peacful protest. what does that mean? We can't stand up for what we believe in?

Finally, picture #33 shows that the U.S isn't the only country being affected by natural disasters. We have been so blind to the harm that we caused the earth that the earth is now in a way getting its revenge on us. It makes me think what other disasters are going to be worse?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb