Rihla #4


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
October 2nd 2011
Published: October 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

1) I choose the article "Hate crimes and violence against People experiencing homelessness" because it related back to what we had been learning in class about Hinduism and the caste system. It also really interested me because I didn't think people would actually commit violent acts against the homeless. I'll admit some homeless make me uneasy but their still people why would other hurt them.

2) From the article I learned that it isn't rare for the homeless to be attacked. According to the article about 291 deaths have occurred because of hate crimes toward the homeless. All these hate crimes I are effected by homelessness because there are people out in the world who really dislike homeless or who just do it because they think it's funny, which it isn't.

3) Again this article relates back to Hinduism and the caste system because in the caste system the "untouchables" are beaten and attacked just because they are "untouchables".

4) This article makes me want to further investigate if Illinois has any laws that protect the homeless or why haven't they put any. Are those laws enforced enough? But most importantly how can we help prevent people from becoming homeless.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb