Rihla # 2


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
September 18th 2011
Published: September 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Dear Rihla,

The article "Why do Women Still earn less than Men" relates to what we learning in class because we are learning about gender divison and equality. In class, we talked about the strong gender divison and how men are mostly doing the hard work, and the women are preparing food and taking care of the children. It is seen that men do a harder job and more efficient than women because of weight or body type.

In the article I learned that with the same type of education women go toward lower paying jobs, but the men receive higher paying jobs because of the field they chose. I learned that there are discrimination in industries that would make a women turn away from getting a job there. I learned that men and women are not being treated fairly with the same benefits. I learned that according to the census numbers have dropped on women's earnings.

As I was reading the article, "Why do women still earn less than men" I kept thinking why do industries have to be "sex segregated"and why does it matter whether your a man or woman even if you have the same education and degree. When it said that "that's because U.S. woman still earned only 77 cents on the male dollar in 2008, according to the latest census statistics" I felt a little mad inside. I felt mad because I do not think it is right that woman still would be earning less than men do because I thought we moved on from past history and gave equal rights to women. I believe that women should be paid more than men because they had to go through so much in order to get to where they are today.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0961s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb