Singin' in the Rain


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Bloomington
February 26th 2009
Published: February 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


My alarm went off, then Sarah turned it off and left, so I got almost an extra hour and a half of sleep. Oh well. I tried. It’s nice to have so many nights in one hotel, to really get settled and comfortable, but packing takes a lot longer then. We got all packed up and hit our new favorite pizza place once again (at least one of us has been there every day since Monday) for lunch before hitting the road. Kyle’s best line of the morning (quoting the movie from last night), yelling, “But I’m British! I’m emotionally constipated!” I drove both hours to our new location in Illinois, and all of us are excited to get back to work tomorrow.

Before we left the hotel, Kyle ichatted me to say good morning. I asked him how he’s feeling and he said, “Ready to pounce on you both” . When Sarah got back to the hotel, she and I armed ourselves with pillows and pounced him! It was about a 47 second pillow fight, and then we all conceded, but the girls won. I had put some thought into my hair this morning, braided it and everything, but the pillow fight didn’t help, then the rain, then I got it caught on the seatbelt, so oh well.

The drive was nice, although it was raining pretty hard. Really hard at some points. Kyle was bored the whole time and the girls slept and read. We played the Trautman Family Soundtrack for the last part of the journey- which is a compilation of songs my mom’s family sang when they road-tripped when they were young. Filled with Jimmy Buffet, Kenny Rogers and John Denver, it was lots of fun.

It was raining sheets when we got here, and we took some down time. Kyle and Sarah had adjoining rooms, so Kyle switched with me so Sarah and I can wander into each others rooms on a whim. Mail came, but I didn’t get any of my new books, so I’m pretty glad I bought one yesterday, although I’m going to finish this one this weekend, so I’ll have to make my new one last until next Thursday at least.

We were trying to plan a trip to New York on one of our weeks off, but it turned out to be too expensive, unfortunately. Kyle joined Sarah and I on our Culver’s excursion! For those of you who don’t remember, it’s a food joint in the Midwest that has frozen custard that is pretty phenomenal! They have regular food too, which is really good, but we just went for custard. Then we all came back and worked out. Kyle said the pool was big enough to do laps in, but apparently we have different definitions of “big.” It’s bigger than lots of hotel pools, but sort of got my hopes up, so Sarah and I hit the ellipticals and treadmills. It felt really nice to have a good workout, although I’m not too fond of the machines here. They’ll do, though.

The book I’m reading now is called “Building the Bridge While you Walk on It” by Robert E. Quinn. It’s a pretty fantastic book about different styles of leadership.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.275s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0873s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb