Heading Home :(


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Aurora
May 22nd 2008
Published: May 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

May 18, 2008

I didn’t sleep well at all last night (probably 45 minutes out of 3 hours) because I was so nervous/excited/sad. I decided to just get up at 4 am and get some last minute stuff together and get ready to go. Lolina woke up, and then we moved my stuff by the door to wait for my taxi. When he came, we loaded it up, and I said goodbye to Lolina. That was really sad since she has been like my mom/grandma for the past 4 months. I was going to the airport with Leah, so we went to go pick her up, and then went to the airport.

We got our tickets, went through security, grabbed some breakfast, and headed to our gate to board. We left Sevilla and landed in Madrid for our layover. Theresa, Leah, another Theresa, and I spent the 3 hours or so walking around, going into stores, and sleeping. Then it was time to head to our gate, so we took the tram to “U”, went through passport control, and went to the gate to board.

The flight to Chicago took FOREVER! It is so boring sitting on a plane for 9 hours! But it wasn’t too bad, because Theresa and I met some guys from Morehead that were playing for their school band in Valencia, so we talked with them for most of the trip. I watched 27 Dresses which was exciting because I hadn’t been able to see it before I left in January.

Finally we landed in Chicago, went through passport control, got our luggage, and then went through customs before finding my parents to go home. It was so weird being in the US again, but I’m excited to be home-minus the whole unpacking business! My first dinner home was shish kabobs, corn on the cob, salad with ranch dressing, cold skim, and strawberry pie with cool whip. It was very good! I am definitely happy to have American food again. I hung out with the family a little bit more before crashing for the night, after a 24+ hour day! Sadly, life in Sevilla is over. It was definitely the chance of a lifetime, and I will miss it tons!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 14; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0794s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb