“On the Road Again” to Visit Friends and Craters of the Moon National Monument in Arco ID


Advertisement

In my final blog of last year – New Places, New Friends, New Truck, New Home – I outlined the whys and wherefores of my delayed departure for the first leg of Chapter 2017 of The Great Adventure. During the final 2-3 weeks I spent in Apache Junction AZ, the temperatures were in the 100s and 110s every day, frequently teasing the 120-degree mark. The forecast for the first couple of days following my departure predicted the temperatures would break the all-time Phoenix record of 122. Before I set out for Las Vegas NV, well after my planned departure date, my cell phone had what I thought was a terminal melt down. A little cooling time in the cabin of my new (to me) tow vehicle cured the phone’s issues. The trip to Roadrunner RV Park in Las Vegas via US 93 went without any other glitches; however, the temperatures were only about ten degrees cooler than they had been in Apache Junction. I had made arrangements to get together with Denny, a retired firefighter friend, and with Naomi, a fellow genealogist who happens to be a third cousin.

Naomi’s great-grandfather and my great-grandfather were brothers; however, her great-grandfather had come to the Unites States from Sweden before the Civil War and had served in that horrific conflict. My great-grandfather immigrated after the Civil War had ended. We had a great time sharing family information one day and got together again for some informal chatter. It turns out she is a country music composer of both music and lyrics, so I had a great time picking her brain about the process. Denny and I got together twice as well, but our conversations were good old-fashioned BS. It was just too hot to visit the attractions I had earmarked for the week. The Burlesque Hall of Fame, the Pinball Hall of Fame and The Neon Museum will just have to be patient and wait their turn.

The drive from Roadrunner RV Park to the campground at Craters of the Moon National Monument near Arco ID was about double Uncle Larry’s daily quota – 604 miles – so I made an overnight stop at Angel Lake RV Park in Wells NV. My last time heading north from Las Vegas I had stayed on US 93, a Rand-McNally-designated scenic drive. This time, I opted to take a shortcut by using NV 318 from Ash Springs NV to its intersection with US 6 southwest of Ely NV. In Ely, I resumed my trip
Uncle Larry Enjoying the “Spa”Uncle Larry Enjoying the “Spa”Uncle Larry Enjoying the “Spa”

Hot Spring Near Craters of the Moon National Monument – Arco ID
on US 93 to Wells. The spaces at Angel Lake RV Park are long enough to accommodate the truck and the trailer without unhooking. That’s very convenient for overnight stops – as long as one has planned and doesn’t have to make a grocery run. In the morning, I continued north on US 93 through Twin Falls ID to Craters of the Moon.

My plans for my three-night stay at Craters of the Moon were to spend one day with my retired firefighter friend, Jack, and his wife, Connie, and one day exploring the “moon.” The campground at Craters of the Moon is very nice but entirely no-frills (I had my first opportunity to use the generator that came with my Bighorn), and there is no Verizon cell or Internet service. That was no problem as I have plenty of “stuff” already downloaded to keep me busy during morning coffee and evening relaxation.

After I got settled in, I drove into Arco and called Jack. After Jack and I had agreed to a Saturday afternoon visit and ended our conversation, Connie called me back to tell me of a hot spring near Craters of the Moon. Of course,
Cooked to Perfection – Oh, My DeerCooked to Perfection – Oh, My DeerCooked to Perfection – Oh, My Deer

Visit with Jack and Connie Oar – Howe ID
Saturday morning found me heading for the hot spring. This unmarked gem is right on the highway and is well-known by the locals, so the four vehicles in the small, isolated parking area were a dead giveaway. I had learned during a previous phone call that Jack and Connie had their ranch listed for sale and were planning to move to northern Montana to be closer to Jack’s brother – Tom Oar, one of the regulars on the History Channel series, Mountain Men. In addition to a bunch of catching up, Connie showed me some of her craft work and Jack cooked some bacon-wrapped venison steaks over a wood fire. I enjoyed a hunk of mighty fine talking, a bit of quality looking and some fantastic eating!

All I had on Sunday’s agenda was the exploration of Craters of the Moon National Monument. I began with a stop at the visitor center, got a couple of questions answered, learned of a Ranger-guided Cave Walk and obtained the caving permit required for participation in the Cave Walk. The most interesting portion of the visitor center presentation told of the migration of a “hot spot” from where Craters of the Moon
I Enjoyed Numerous Scenic Vistas During My Short HikeI Enjoyed Numerous Scenic Vistas During My Short HikeI Enjoyed Numerous Scenic Vistas During My Short Hike

Tree Molds Trail – Craters of the Moon National Monument – Arco ID
is today to the Yellowstone National Park area. Yup, Yellowstone is a definite hot spot! After leaving the visitor center, my first stop was at the North Crater Flow Trail where the 0.3-mile trail winds across one of the youngest lava flows in the park. I also made stops at Inferno Cone, Splatter Cones and Big Craters Area on my way to a stop with three trail options. Because of the time constraints of the 2 PM Cave Walk, I opted to take the two-mile Tree Molds Trail instead of the slightly longer Broken Top Trail or Wilderness Trail hikes. The “Tree Molds” were formed when molten lava engulfed trees, the “cold” trees caused the lava to solidify and the tree disappeared through incineration and decay. Some tree molds are vertical while others are horizontal. Regardless, they are quite unique and interesting.

The Ranger began the Cave Walk with an informative talk and stopped several times along the 0.8-mile trail to the end point, Indian Tunnel, to pass along other information. The Ranger did a good job with the material she was given; however, I found the cave area the least interesting of my activities. Craters of the Moon
The “Cave” Actually Is an Uncollapsed Portion of a Lava TubeThe “Cave” Actually Is an Uncollapsed Portion of a Lava TubeThe “Cave” Actually Is an Uncollapsed Portion of a Lava Tube

Ranger-Guided Cave Walk – Craters of the Moon National Monument – Arco ID
National Monument is a unique geographic area and is worth a short detour for those interested in geology or earth science; however, for the average tourist, the park is only recommended for those passing through for some other reason. Its distance from Pocatello ID and Boise ID make it unsuitable for a day-trip excursion unless planning a very early start and a very long day.

The first 10 days of the 2017 chapter of The Great Adventure found me learning more about my new truck and my new house as well as making several adjustments to the packing scheme to keep the loads from shifting while on the road. I also have learned that landslides along the Pacific Coast Highway have closed that route so I’ll be making adjustments to the post-August segment of my travels. Stay tuned, there’s more to come!


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

I Was “First Come, First Serve” At This Secluded Pull-ThroughI Was “First Come, First Serve” At This Secluded Pull-Through
I Was “First Come, First Serve” At This Secluded Pull-Through

Craters of the Moon National Monument – Arco ID
One Example of Connie’s Handiwork – A Very Crafty LadyOne Example of Connie’s Handiwork – A Very Crafty Lady
One Example of Connie’s Handiwork – A Very Crafty Lady

Visit with Jack and Connie Oar – Howe ID
The “Glass Bead Warehouse”The “Glass Bead Warehouse”
The “Glass Bead Warehouse”

Visit with Jack and Connie Oar – Howe ID
Along US Highway 20, Signage Relates Human History …Along US Highway 20, Signage Relates Human History …
Along US Highway 20, Signage Relates Human History …

Craters of the Moon National Monument – Arco ID
… While Signage Within the Park Relates Natural History… While Signage Within the Park Relates Natural History
… While Signage Within the Park Relates Natural History

Craters of the Moon National Monument – Arco ID
North Crater Spewed Both Violent Ejections and Calmer Flows of Lava8North Crater Spewed Both Violent Ejections and Calmer Flows of Lava8
North Crater Spewed Both Violent Ejections and Calmer Flows of Lava8

North Crater Flow Area – Craters of the Moon National Monument – Arco ID
Flowing Emissions of Lava Are Termed Pāhoehoe in Hawaii …Flowing Emissions of Lava Are Termed Pāhoehoe in Hawaii …
Flowing Emissions of Lava Are Termed Pāhoehoe in Hawaii …

North Crater Flow Area – Craters of the Moon National Monument – Arco ID
While The Hawaiians Call The Violent Ejection Of Cinder Cone Fragments and Lava ‘a‘āWhile The Hawaiians Call The Violent Ejection Of Cinder Cone Fragments and Lava ‘a‘ā
While The Hawaiians Call The Violent Ejection Of Cinder Cone Fragments and Lava ‘a‘ā

North Crater Flow Area – Craters of the Moon National Monument – Arco ID
Plants Have Taken Root in the Cracks of the Pāhoehoe LavaPlants Have Taken Root in the Cracks of the Pāhoehoe Lava
Plants Have Taken Root in the Cracks of the Pāhoehoe Lava

North Crater Flow Area – Craters of the Moon National Monument – Arco ID
Note the Paved Spatter Cones Trail (Right, Center)Note the Paved Spatter Cones Trail (Right, Center)
Note the Paved Spatter Cones Trail (Right, Center)

Spatter Cones Area – Craters of the Moon National Monument – Arco ID
One Can Get Up Close and Personal With the ‘a‘ā Lava Along the TrailOne Can Get Up Close and Personal With the ‘a‘ā Lava Along the Trail
One Can Get Up Close and Personal With the ‘a‘ā Lava Along the Trail

Spatter Cones Area – Craters of the Moon National Monument – Arco ID
One Can Peek Through a Piece of Ejected Cinder Cone Along Snow Cone TrailOne Can Peek Through a Piece of Ejected Cinder Cone Along Snow Cone Trail
One Can Peek Through a Piece of Ejected Cinder Cone Along Snow Cone Trail

Spatter Cones Area – Craters of the Moon National Monument – Arco ID


Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0821s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb