Day 8 – O’ahu to Melbourne


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu
June 20th 2015
Published: June 30th 2015
Edit Blog Post

We were up today at 7:40am when the alarm went off to shower briefly and finish packing. We were ready to leave and cabbed it to the airport by 8:45am. We got here probably a bit early but we preferred that to being late.
We checked in then went outside while Bec had a smoke, then sat outside Starbucks for another half hour so Bec could have one last smoke before heading in.
We breezed through security then went to get some breakfast/lunch at Burger King.
After that we went into nearly every store that was in the airport before making our way to our gate where Bec and I found our tradition of massage chairs. They were only $2 for 8mins so we gave them two rounds. By that point it was 11:30am and it was almost time to board.
We boarded just before 12:00pm and took off about 12:15pm. We'd notice there was a spare seat behind so asked the hostess if Bec could move there and she said, "Yes, but after takeoff," so we reserved that seat with blanket. Once the seat belt sign went off, Bec went to the seat and each of us had a two seat row to ourselves – fantastic.
I slept for just over an hour and woke feeling much better, the other two slept longer. At this point there was 9.5hrs of flight time left as the flight home is an hour and 10mins longer than going over.
So I decided to read the first chapter of my book I’d bought called 'Paper Towns' by John Green. That was another half an hour down. Then I decided to watch another episode of ‘Orange in the New Black’. That was another hour down, then decided I’d take another nap, and that was another 35mins down.
Then filling out my customs form and two more chapters of the book and we were down to 6hrs55mins to go and we'd just flown over the International Date Line. I took another nap, that took me down to only 5hrs 45mins to go. At that point Marnee was awake too and were ordered some food considering it was dinner time back in Hawaii. Marnee got a toasted ham and cheese sandwich and I got a chicken caesar wrap, both were delightful.
I then continued to read my book until there was 3.5hrs still to go and decided it was nap time again. I woke with 2.5hrs to go and the sun had just set over the clouds. The sky was a beautiful blue colour going down through purple, pink, yellow and orange before hitting the clouds, with the moon and Venus above.
We were off the coast of Australia by this point, in line roughly with Brisbane.
I stayed awake for the rest of the flight reading my book. I made it half way through by the time we were landing at just after 7:30pm Melbourne time. We made it very quickly through customs and duty free and didn’t wait long at all for our bags. We said our goodbyes to Marnee as she got picked up and made our way on the bus to the long term carpark and were on the freeway home in no time.

Total steps for the day: 7,098
Total kms for the day: 4.93

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.024s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb