Aloha!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Waikiki
May 1st 2009
Published: May 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Wadsworth to Honolulu

A long way from home....

Aloha from Hawaii!! What a journey it's been to get here. Never in my wildest dreams did I think I would be working in Honolulu and living in Waikiki Beach. I'm sure if you asked my family if I would ever be here, a few years ago they would have said no way. I had a great flight from San Hose into Honolulu. It was pretty awesome to see the other islands from the air. After picking up my rental car and throwing my suitcases at my condo, I took my headed for the North Shore. I wasn't going to let jet lag bring me down! I had no idea where I was going, but my GPS led me to a beach... which led me to another... and another... after a couple of hours and a few stops, the North Shore was mine! I didn't expect the beaches to be as short as they are... on the Atlantic Ocean they go for miles and miles... Here, they are maybe a few hundred yards, at best. Unfortunately, it was high tide and the surfers were not out and the beaches were very shallow. I'm going to venture out there again this Saturday. I just may have to buy a $500k shack and open up a PT practice in a small town! :-)
I started work today at Kuikani Hospital. It's a VERY small local hospital that has approx 100 beds. The patients are multicultural and speak many different languages, mostly from Asian countries. I'm starting to learn some Hawaiian and embrace the culture as much as possible. The one thing I am having a hard time with is the 6 hr time change from home. I have to make all of my call during my lunch break because when I get off work everyone is in bed back home. So I'm looking forward to more adventures and I will keep you all posted and keep the photos coming!
Aloha!



Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

North ShoreNorth Shore
North Shore

Wish it wasn't raining!
Where's the beach?Where's the beach?
Where's the beach?

High tide :-(
BathroomBathroom
Bathroom

my condo
KitchenKitchen
Kitchen

my condo
View from my lanaiView from my lanai
View from my lanai

Downtown Honolulu
View from my lanaiView from my lanai
View from my lanai

Diamond Head


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb