Back in the room, FINALLY!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Waikiki
February 14th 2007
Published: February 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

What a day! Let me just say that there is only so much island, and all of us are trying to drive it. The traffic here is horrific. So if we move here, it will definitely be many miles from Waikiki.

Anyhow, we left this morning and headed for the Punchbowl, which is the National Memorial Cemetary of the Pacific. It contains the graves of thousands in the crater of an old volcano. Absolutely humbling, and I have to say the views were breathtaking.

Then on to drive up Tantalus. I now know something the guide book did not tell me: Tantalus is a one person trip. Because inevitably the person who is not driving will end up nauseated clinging to the door. Quite a road. Next time, I drive. We stopped at a roadside park and took some beautiful pictures.

We then headed to Diamondhead to climb up the side of the crater. .7 miles, all uphill. Stairs. 'Nuff said. Jerry may still be in the dog house, we'll just have to see how sore I am in the morning. It was hot. And miserable. The view was great, though. But if I move here and any of you come to visit, I'm sorry, but that's something you'll have to do on your own!

To finish off the evening, we headed to a show at the military hotel, The Hale Koa. Very Hawaiian, very cheesy, very entertaining. We had a great time! Great Valentine's Day!

Now I'm back here, uploading pictures for all of you, and waiting for my wonderful boyfriend to bring back a late night snack so I stop eating chocolates. Tomorrow: THE BEACH!!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.024s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb