Kualoa Ranch, Hickman Airforce Base


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Kaneohe Sandbar
April 26th 2012
Published: March 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

While Judy continued to work...I continued to play! :-) I drove up the Kamehameha Hwy to Kane'ohe to Kualoa Ranch. This is where I spent most of the day. Walking around the ranch, seeing the little area where they held animals such as goats, turtle, and ostrich. There were a few chickens and roosters running around as well.

This ranch is still a working ranch with cattle. It is about 4000 arces and founded in 1850. Other than a working cattle ranch Kualoa has expanded it's role to the home of many film shoots including Jurassic Park, Journey to the Earth, Pearl Harbor, and 50 First Dates. While here at the ranch I did three tours; the Jungle Expedition, Movie Sites, and a Horseback Tour.

The Jungle Expedition took us around to different areas of the ranch. Different scenery and views. From this tour we were able to overlook the water and see where the dock was used in 50 First Dates. We saw the "China Man's Hat" island, as well as the "turtle going out to sea". We also saw bunkers used in the war and heard about the area during the war.

After the Jungle Expedition, I went onto the Movie Site Tour. Some of the tour overlapped the Jungle Expedition tour but it was still nice to hear the guide's commatery regarding the movies that were filmed on the property of Kualoa Ranch. Movies such as the ones already mentioned but also the tv shows of Lost and the newer Hawaii 5-O.

After the second tour, we had lunch and then I rode horseback (first time on horseback). The trainer put me on a mello horse named "Dr. Pepper". I told Dr. Pepper not to take it personally, I liked Pepsi! He was a good horse but did not also cue into the taps and the kicks but he was steady and did not hold up the line. It was a smooth ride but if you are not accustomed to riding....well, my thighs hurt.

After the ranch, I headed back to Ford Island and hung around the house and relaxed before Judy came home. For the evening we went to the Airforce Hickman Base where they had a BBQ. It was a buffet type of BBQ. You went up, picked out your food, meats, sauces and paid for it by weight. Then you took it over to the guy that does the frying. I have to say, I do not cook but I made a fantastic meal for myself!!! It was tasty!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Kauhula RanchKauhula Ranch
Kauhula Ranch

I never knew goats had a great sense of balance, though I should as goats and sheep tend to roam in the mountain regions.
Kauhula RanchKauhula Ranch
Kauhula Ranch

"China man's hat"
Kauhula RanchKauhula Ranch
Kauhula Ranch

The turtle going out to sea on the left
Kauhula RanchKauhula Ranch
Kauhula Ranch

The dock in the distance is from 50 First Dates with Drew Barrymore and Adam Sandler
Kauhula RanchKauhula Ranch
Kauhula Ranch

movie prop


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0265s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb