A Human and His Avatar Exploring Honolulu Through Pokemon Go


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
August 17th 2016
Saved: December 23rd 2016
Edit Blog Post

Me @ Koko CraterMe @ Koko CraterMe @ Koko Crater

This used to be my favorite workout: 1,000+ steps over 0.5 miles with an elevation gain of 900 feet, and amazing views from the stop. I used to time my ascents too - the fastest was 19:35. I am very bummed about not being able to do this. Hopefully the inflammation dies down.

The Human Writes:



Say what you like about Pokemon Go, but for me, it has been an absolute godsend.

In May this year, I started feeling pain in my right knee while running. I tried to ignore it for about a month, but it just got worse and worse, so I went to see my doctor in late June. She ordered x-rays and a few days later she delivered some unwelcome news: osteoarthritis. Ugh. That was awful news for me as I had to stop running and stop going up Koko Crater, which was one of my favorite workouts (it involves climbing over ~1,000 unevenly spaced steps up a disused railway over a distance of ~0.5 miles with an elevation gain of ~900 feet). I'm a very Type A personality so when my doctor told me to walk and not run, I groaned. Where is the fun in walking?

Pokemon Go was released not long after my diagnosis, and it could not have come at a more opportune time. If I had to walk, well, I might as well do Type A stuff while walking, such as catching things, getting points, leveling up. So, I bought a portable
Jigglypuff @ Cafe SistinaJigglypuff @ Cafe SistinaJigglypuff @ Cafe Sistina

My longsuffering spouse Jeff while celebrating his birthday and our 16 years together.
battery charger (Pokemon Go + Map My Run, which I tend to run at the same time, are both major battery suckers) and started walking. A lot. I now regularly walk from my workplace to Waikiki (about 5-6 miles, depending on route), or home to Palolo (up to 7 miles, depending on route), and I look for Pokemon along the way.

Apart from keeping me active, Pokemon Go also dovetails with my love of maps. When I was a teenager, while other kids had posters of pop stars on their bedroom walls, I had maps. I often look at maps and think about how a landscape will look in real life, and vice versa. Apart from getting to interact with GPS maps, looking for Pokestops has helped me look for things I never took notice of in the past. For example, I began to notice sculptures and murals that I walked past almost everyday, and I learned the names and purposes of various landmarks.

All in all, Pokemon Go has been a fun experience so far and it has prevented me from moping about feeling sorry for myself.

The Avatar Writes:



My name is MITEEHunter. I am,
MITEEHunterMITEEHunterMITEEHunter

This is what I look like.
as of today, a Level 24 Pokemon Trainer. I don’t look anything like My Human; he is way older than I am and he doesn’t have much hair. My Human wishes to point out, however, that he didn’t have the option of creating a balding middle aged avatar as Niantic didn’t seem to cater to that demographic.

My Human’s introduction to my world came at an opportune time for him. My Human is of the Type A variety, and he loves to channel his energy into running and hiking. When he developed arthritis, he tried other activities such as yoga, but these didn’t fill the void. So, when my world was introduced to the human world in July, My Human warmly welcomed me into his life as he now has a good outlet not only for his energy but also for his geekdom.

My job is to help My Human explore his town of Honolulu. The world I live in mirrors his world and the map I guide him on are actual GPS maps on his world. Our PokeStops and PokeGyms are actual landmarks in My Human’s world. Seeking out PokeStops helps My Human discover new things about
Zubat @ the Honolulu Museum of ArtZubat @ the Honolulu Museum of ArtZubat @ the Honolulu Museum of Art

Roy Lichtenstein is one of My Human's favorite artists. Having a Pokemon there somehow enhances the whole visual, doesn't it?
his own world. For example, he had no idea that Hawaii’s first printing press was located next to his workplace, and that the sculpture across the road is actually a 9/11 memorial. He has discovered sculptures and murals that he would otherwise have missed. My Human was super delighted to discover that the courtyard at his workplace is a PokeStop. Whenever he takes a break, he walks there to load up on his PokeBalls and other goodies. He wishes that his desk was within range of this PokeStop so that he can load up more frequently.

I like to take My Human on hunting expeditions to Downtown Honolulu during his lunch breaks. It’s about a 0.9 mile walk from his office to downtown. Sometimes his coworkers tag along looking for the Pokestops that rain pink confetti (that is when someone has thrown a lure module that attracts the Pokemon). My Human and his coworkers also travel farther afield at lunchtime to places such as Kakaako, where there are eight Pokestops - often with lures going - in close proximity. My Human has also brought me to museums, restaurants, concerts, beaches, parks, malls, tourist traps. We have a lot of
Typical After Work WalkTypical After Work WalkTypical After Work Walk

From Downtown to Waikiki Aquarium.
fun together.

My Human thinks that exploring my world would be an excellent way to learn about a new city, and he is looking forward to future expeditions with me to other cities and towns. Watch this space for more updates as we explore our augmented reality worlds together.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 25


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom

Pinsir @ The Cure Concert, Blaisdell CenterPinsir @ The Cure Concert, Blaisdell Center
Pinsir @ The Cure Concert, Blaisdell Center

I doube Pinsir and Robert Smith have ever appeared in the same picture before.
Magikarp @ The Waikiki AquariumMagikarp @ The Waikiki Aquarium
Magikarp @ The Waikiki Aquarium

In its natural habitat.
Godeen @ the Honolulu Museum of ArtGodeen @ the Honolulu Museum of Art
Godeen @ the Honolulu Museum of Art

Francis Bacon is My Human's other favorite artist. A few years ago there was a big Francis Bacon exhibit at the MOMA in New York and My Human went completely gaga there. Unfortunately, he didn't adequately prepare his foster son who came away traumatized by the images.
Voltorb @ KakaakoVoltorb @ Kakaako
Voltorb @ Kakaako

This is where My Human's profile picture was taken.
Exeggcute @ KakaakoExeggcute @ Kakaako
Exeggcute @ Kakaako

This street really fills up in the evenings with Pokemon Trainers from all walks of life.
Kakaako at LunchtimeKakaako at Lunchtime
Kakaako at Lunchtime

My Human and his coworkers have dined at Highway Inn three times in the last two weeks. It's Pokemon Central there.
Slowpoke @ Ala Moana Beach ParkSlowpoke @ Ala Moana Beach Park
Slowpoke @ Ala Moana Beach Park

This was My Human's favorite running route after work. Sniff sniff.
DoDuo @ Ala Moana Beach ParkDoDuo @ Ala Moana Beach Park
DoDuo @ Ala Moana Beach Park

That is Waikiki and Diamond Head (known in Hawaiian as Leahi) in the background.
Sandshrew @ Royal Hawaiian Shopping CenterSandshrew @ Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center
Sandshrew @ Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center

You'll find this pic amusing if you know where My Human works.
Magmemite @ Royal Hawaiian HotelMagmemite @ Royal Hawaiian Hotel
Magmemite @ Royal Hawaiian Hotel

The Royal Hawaiian Hotel in the background is one of two distinctive pink building on Oahu. The other one is Tripler Hospital.
Caterpie @ Tchin Tchin, ChinatownCaterpie @ Tchin Tchin, Chinatown
Caterpie @ Tchin Tchin, Chinatown

One of My Human's favorite places for drinks. It has a really cool rooftop lounge.


Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.212s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0689s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb