Day 7: Hiking up Diamond Head State Monument


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
January 15th 2015
Published: March 28th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Thursday, 15th January 2015

Hiking up Diamond Head State Monument was a fun thing for me to do in Hawaii other than visiting the beaches and war memorials. As someone of average fitness and who is not into trekking, I found the trail to be very manageable. I probably took about an hour to reach the summit from the starting point, reachable by a short bus ride from Waikiki Beach.

I had to pay a small admission fee at the ticket booth before embarking on my climb. The well-managed trail was relatively easy to conquer even though I encountered a stretch of dark tunnels and steep stairways on my way to the top.

The views of Waikiki from the summit were awesome. In fact, there were plenty of picture taking opportunities along the way which eventually formed part of my collective memories of Hawaii.

Aloha.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb