Getting ready for the trip


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
July 4th 2011
Published: July 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Maunaloa BayMaunaloa BayMaunaloa Bay

Maunaloa Bay this afternoon
On this trip, it's important to travel light. I usually pack a little of everything in my bags, with the supposition that it's better to have too many things than too few. But this trip will involve lots of train travel and transfers between hotels. Italian city streets often feature uneven cobblestones, stairways and bridges...in other words, they're not ideal for hauling suitcases from one place to the next.

I've told the girls, "One medium-sized rolling bag each!" Now I have to stick with the same rule, and I'm wondering how I am going to get all my stuff into one suitcase. I have a list of essential items (comfortable shoes), but I don't want to look too American! Italians generally dress relatively well, even in the heat of summer, so I have to pack things that will travel and wear well. Not too many pairs of shoes. Add a sweater, take out a pair of shorts....uggh! It's easy to define a packing list, but hard to stick to it myself!

It's a good thing I swam this afternoon before coming home to pack. There's nothing like a great workout to put things in perspective.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0854s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb