ApartmentMatch.com


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
August 7th 2008
Published: August 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Year of the Rat

pt 0: aptly named, I no longer have an apartment in San Diego. pt 1: Honolulu, HI, current. pt 2: 8/28 New York, NY, my last taste of the US in the most quintessential US city. pt 3: 9/4 Paris, FR for ten days of eating French food. pt 4: 9/14 Marseille, FR three days on the Riviera, I've always been enraptured with Provence, I couldn't miss it. pt 5: 9/17 Barcelona, SP two days isn't enough time, but I'm passing through, why not grab some tapas and Gaudi. pt 6: 9/19 Vilafranca del Penedes, SP I'm not even sure how I'm getting here, but I'm working at a winery, and I'm assured there's a train from Barcelona. pt 7: 9/29 Marmande, FR with Enid and Kevin, the nicest hosts on email, very accomodating. pt 8: 10/14 Fougere, FR also not too sure, I think I plotted "Fougeres", which I think is a different city. But it's in the Loire Valley, with goats and horses. pt 9: 10/24 Vire, France with Jayne, I think she bakes cakes, seems very friendly, should be good. pt 10: 11/3 Paris, FR again, sigh.pt 11: 11/ 5 Newark, NJ the armpit of America, ironically my first taste back in the US.pt 12: 11/6 Long Beach, CA hopefully my kind brother can get me from here, I'm scared of the LBC. pt 13: 11/7 San Diego CA if Chandler hasn't trashed my car.

Granted I'm only 24 (it's not too late to send birthday presents, in case you forgot), yet I see more and more of my peers resorting to the unthinkable: internet dating. Not that there's anything wrong with match.com, if you're ugly and have no social skills (no offense Adam), but we're so young! Isn't finding that one perfect match the reward of years of torment making the wrong choice? However, I digress.

The point is, my friends who have gone on dates with people they meet online always report back that the profile picture of their computer Casanova is grossly deceptive. And I do mean gross. One friend in particular mentioned her disappointment that her own honesty in profiling herself was not reciprocated. She felt that the portrait of her 35 year-old match should have been just that: a portrait of a 35 year old. However, the picture he displayed was of him at a much slimmer, much handsomer young-20 year-old. You can't trust anyone these days.

As I search for the perfect Paris apartment to rest my bags for ten days, I've been heavily relying on the hosts' online photographs. They often portray a charming, sunny, spacious Parisian flat, with a stunning view. However, if their studio is 18 meters square, how in the world is there so much space? I'm inclined to believe that they stood directly in the middle of their cramped quarters, and spun 360 degrees (celsius, of course), snapping photographs as they went. And where is that durn toilet? Did it somehow escape the lens in the bathroom shot? Some people can so artfully turn an overweight, prematurely balding 35 year-old apartment into a dashing, 20-something with a view of the Seine.

Not that it truly matters. I'm not traveling halfway around the globe to stay in an apartment.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.08s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb