1983


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
February 1st 2018
Published: February 2nd 2018
Edit Blog Post

The one and only time I came to Hawaii was when I was 18 yrs old. It’s kind of funny because the only picture I’ve ever framed of just myself was taken on that trip. There was something about the way the North Shore made me feel. It was beautiful, I felt a world away from my reality and everything felt, smelled and looked like paradise.

As I return to the enchanted island of Oahu I am reminded of the cycle of life and how incredibly beautiful it is that we weave ourselves in and out of beauty while we are here on this earth. We grow, we evolve, we have our children and then we are given an opportunity to look into the mirror through their eyes.

I fully embrace this trip with no expectations other than enjoying the beauty of it all. Taking it in slowly, savoring the moments of friendships, daughters, rainbows, and beaches. Fondly remembering my youth and all that has transpired in my life up until now.

I celebrate Rio turning 19 while on this enchanted island and wonder how I created someone so spicy and sassy. I relish in the beauty of our relationship, even the intense temperature of the spice and sass at times. I recognize with clarity the importance of loving one another and how valuable it is to share these experiences.

I miss my mother and realize how monumental age 19 was for me, the age I was when she died. At the same time, I recognize my mother's presence which is felt with enormity, so frequently, that I've come to expect it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb