Feast at Lele and riding down the volcano


Advertisement
Published: October 21st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Off I went on my own to the Feast at Lelelast night. I thought they might be big tables and I would be put on a table with others, but no I had a lovely intimate table just on my own surrounded by honeymooners and couples on holiday etc, way to feel like a looser! Anyway I coped ok watching all the waiters. Dressed in just a sarong and thongs (cant say what was underneath, maybe they are like kilts?) except for one guy who had his joggers on, didn't really go with the sarong. My waiter Randy, was very sweet, obviously felt sorry for the lady with no friends and kept brining me drinks.

The feast, very aptly named, was magnificent. We went on a journey from Hawaii to New Zealand, to Tahiti and ended in Samoa. There were 3 dishes from each island and matching dancing and entertainment. Went for 4 hours and a well oiled machine, I think they have done it before! I would highly recommend it. The weather had cleared up, still cloudy but no rain and a slight breeze.

Home early to bed as I have to be up at 1.30am to go on my volcano bike ride!

Slept a lot better and up rearing to go at 1.45am. Showered and out to the car, address in Gerald GPS and off by 2.30am. Arrived in time at 3.09 to Maui Sunriders , ready to be briefed, kitted out in wet weather gear (mainly for the wind) helmets fitted, back packs loaded with map, bike lock and phone number in case of help. In the mini bus with bikes on top and off the 7 of us went with Joe the rapid fire tour guide. The drive to the top of Haleakala Volcano, 10,000 ft high, took about 1.5 hours with Rabid Fire Joe talking non stop without a breath for at least 45 min of it, in one of those really annoying voices. It sounded like he swallowed a tour brochure. But I now know about the different types of volcanoes, why this on is now extinct, what he does for a living, where he grew up, why he's in Maui, how he is going to save the planet, that it is right, right, left on the way down, got that, right, right, left! Etc. Etc. you get the picture? All this while he zoomed around the many hairpin turns complaining about tourists on the road!

The stars were out and a magnificent crescent moon, the clouds and rain have gone, thank you. Arrived at the top with the other 700 or so tourists who arrive to see the sunset, many of whom ride down as well. Blimey it was cold up there, thank God for Rapid Fire Joes wet weather gear. The wind had a chill factor of - something brrrrr. found a possy standing on a rock and staked my claim. One thing for RF Joe he did get us there before most people. We were there for about 45 min and watched the most breathtaking natural experience I have ever seen. Standing on the edge of the crater above the clouds the colours and the silence (except for the tourists) was unbelievable. How many photos can you take of a sunrise? mmmmmmmm. Stunning, stunning, stunning. Tempted to go back again.

Back in the bus with RF Joe and off down to the outside of the National Park. Time to get out and get our bikes, still chilly but not the wind, and the beautiful sun was up now (I know cos I watched it!). Oh dear what have I got myself into? Riding on a bike, down hill, 28 miles, SH.......T. Nerves kicked in. No, I can do this! Gave myself a stern talking to and as we were now on our own, we just had to have the gear back to Paia by 4.30, I knew I wasn't going to be holding anyone up. Off I went after the first 2 couples. Wahooo! What a ride! Tempted to do that again too, what fun! Sang "I am Woman" by Helen Ready at the top of my voice and owned that Volcano. Stopped for breakfast in Makawao on the way down, rode past the retreat venue that I head to on Wednesday. Makawao is such a cute little village, will explore more when I'm at the retreat. Also will explore Paia (RF Joe described it as the Hawaii version of Nimbin, I thought all Hawaii was like that!). Arrived back in Paia by 9.15. Returned all the gear and took a drive ( hear that? casually took a drive! I'm driving like a pro now!) east of the town to a couple of the big surfing beaches of Maui to have a look. Then headed back home. Had a rest for and hour as feeling a little weary.

Off to downtown Lahinia and explored some of the historical sights, as it was an old whaling town and once the capital of Hawaii. I sat and had a Shaved Ice (famous in Hawaii) to try and cool down, Yumm, might have to do that again. It is so hot and humid today, decided to come back and sit in aircon for and hour, write this and then get showered and head out to dinner at Mick Fleetwood's restaurant (yep of Fleetwood Mac fame).

Until tomorrow Aloha and Mahalo for reading my blog


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



21st October 2014

Awesome
Lovely pictures Robyn
21st October 2014

WOW
Thank you for sharing and including me in your travel blog. Can't wait to get home from work to read it. You are definitely a lot braver then me with all that you are doing. You are an inspiration to me Robyn and I admire you hugely. You are AWESOME! XX
21st October 2014

Amazing
Fabulous pictures Robyn. You are so brave setting off on your own. I was a little concerned about you driving there, only because they drive on the other side of the road to us. You have mastered that as well. Good on you Robyn.
21st October 2014

WOW
How spectacular your photos are - I can see at least a 20,000 photo shoot by the time you arrive back home. Your travels are sounding fantastic and I am thoroughly enjoying the trip. It's great that you can do this for me, coz I sure as hell wont be doing it. All good on the home front and only 10 more sleeps before Christmas Bootcamp up in Toodyay. Well done Miss Robyn - I present you with a gold medal. Love Margaret
21st October 2014

You are so much braver than me! I would have ended up impaled on a tree on the first bend. What a bunch of tossers the people at the banquet must have been. Couldn't one of them asked you to join them?

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb