Sunrise at Mauna Kea


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Big Island
March 4th 2006
Published: March 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I just wanted to see if i would get any comments if i didn't update. lol jk... we've been out a lot lately so i haven't been able to update. I'll put pictures up later, but i just wanted to touch bases and assure you all i'm still alive. 😊 I can't win - i can't tell you how many comments i've gotten putting down my latest pictures... but clearly, i was trying to get you all to appreciate the beauty of blurred art. And my buddy Ray Charles was helping me out... lol sorry i dont know what happened, but i'll try and get them back up and in focus. A couple days ago we went to the beach, named '69' after the lightpole where you turn. Unfortunately i didn't take any pictures, although Dave tried frantically to prove i was, indeed, in water beyond my ankles, and climbing the 40 foot high lava rocks planted in deep water. But i uh... lost.. his camera... yeah. The beach at 69 was really nice; hardly any waves, clear to the bottom, and dense lava rocks scattered every now and then. Not much of a sunset though; it went behind the clouds a few minutes ahead of time, go figure.

Today we went to the vanilla factory as a field trip for all the kids in the hall who are homeschooling. Vanilla is actually harvested from orchids - did not know that! They gave us lemonade with fresh vanilla, sounds very strange but it was like the best lemonade i've ever had. then we had vanilla icecream with a chocolate topping, also made with vanilla. On the way back, Bryan took us to see his chinchillas and all his artwork. He's sooooo good - he can take any photo or picture from a magazine and perfectly imitate it. Woot. Tonight around 3am we're going to Mauna Kea - again, the mtn with snow. We're gonna take a bunch of blankets and watch the sunrise. This mountain is the largest in the world from below sea level... here, it may be 77... the top of Mauna Kea can be anywhere in the 30s... So Bryan and maybe his brother Jason want to come as well as Melia and we'll hang out for a little while. If i can, i'll just leave u with that for now... i'm gonna go to bed now so i can get up around 3 :P ...i'll put pictures up later -- my new famous words, eh? And later i'll also tell you whatever else i left out. We've managed to fill the next 2 weeks until monday with a lot of must-see's, so i'll write about those.. and tuesday evening i leave and will see your lovely faces on wednesday 😊 except really i'll be sleeping, so let's shoot for thursday 😉 I love yall and miss yall sooooo much!!! Write me! <3 Francesca

Advertisement



4th March 2006

I feel very cheated that there have been no posts lately, a post today with NO pictures, and a previous post with what may or may not be pictures. You owe me and all your fans big-time.;)Are you ready to come back home now so you can cheat us some more by being ASLEEP at your welcome back dinner??
4th March 2006

Hawaii
I read your latest post and it remined me of the time I was in bangladash, feeding little orphan children with horrible breath! It was almost like flying a kite you once lost but found. But terrible pains of hunger have arosen within my stomach and I must go and quench the beast before the light of sun has been diminished!
4th March 2006

Hey from the NYer's
Glad you are having fun and we miss you too, Hope you have been getting my coments I never see them come up on this screen. I only see the crazy writings of Pikachu Love Jeanette
13th March 2006

yeah
hey fran, i've enjoyed reading your blogs but i can't wait for you to come home. i'm gonna have you over for dinner so that you can show me all the neat pictures and stuff. hope u continue to enjoy your trip

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1015.7kb