We're off


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia
September 15th 2008
Published: September 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It all started with a text message from Jena, my sisters friend that I have known for several years now. I was toying with the idea of hobo'ing my way across the US and posted a question on Yahoo answers asking for tips/advice about how it might be possible. The only responses were people telling me not to do it, except one from Jena who said she was staying in Augusta and invited me to come stop by. What the hell I thought, I would like to see Atlanta, Augusta, Chattanooga (which were on the way) and thought I may be able to hook up with some family and old high school friends out that way to continue procrastinating heading back to Sac.

Footnote: I was still pretty blue about everything and viewed going back to Sac as some monumental tale between the legs moment. I love everyone there, but I had made my peace with never living there again.

So had a good time learning about Judiasm from Jena and playing with Reannan. Explored around a little and checked out Augusta's river walk and Jazz concert and then went to Columbia SC and sweated my ass off in 100 degree heat with full on humidity. Went out to Savannah to see Jessica's old boyfriend's sister and got lost as hell and kicked out a restaurant patio (louie blew our cover and barked at the waitress 😊

The two nights leading up to picking up Shar were exhausting. Jena sprained her ribs and was in a lot of pain. I ended up taking her to the ER and tracking down her husband Ben in AIT and asking his CO permission to come get him to be with her. We were there all night and then the next night I stayed up bitting my nails that Shar would be able to get on the plane. Not only was she standby but she had no photo ID to speak of, just the paper replacement thing they give you until the real one comes in the mail. Needless to say she not only made the flight (just by the hair of her chinny chin chin) but got bumped to 1st class! I went to bed about 2-3am and had to get up at 5am to hit the road to get her in Savannah (3 hrs away).

We both arrived just about the same time and hit the road immediately. I took her to the river walk and through the heart of town. Then we realized that we were both exhausted and miserably hot. I thought we could go out to the island beach and take a nap under a tree, since later we would be meeting up with our Couch Surfing host, Felicia. We drove and drove and soon realized that there were no damn tree's or shade at the beach and dogs were not allowed.

We decided we must get some rest and air conditioning if there was going to be a trip at all and called to reschedule with Felicia for the next day. Found a room and slept until night time and then ventured out for some "Waffle House" and a quick dip in the pool. Either waffle house was really good or we were just starving, it started to storm while we were swimming, lighting everywhere, so we headed in for the night.

Next day Louie cracked us up by chasing the poor Indian housekeeper, he climbed the wall like spiderman trying to get away from Lou 😊 We drove all over Savannah trying to find internet connections and/or power adapter for Shar's laptop and eventually ended up at Felicia's house.

Let me just preface this next section by saying I had spoken to Felicia many times by this point. She was willing to give us a place to stay and be my first CS reference which I desperately needed if we were gonna get anymore CS offers. She was also very sweet and totally excited about us coming and being her first surfers as well.

As I pull up I realize that Felicia's house is in a pretty bad part of town and the only parking is on the street not near her converted Victorian apartment and directly in front of what appears to be a crack house. Now you all know I have embraced my inner hood rat and can feel quite comfortable in any ghetto but as I have all of my worldly possessions stuffed to the roof of the car I can't help feeling like its an open invitation to being ripped off if left unattended for long.

We waited anxiously for her to arrive and she immediately went in and came out quickly with a giant German Shepherd, who needed to be walked. We joined her with the Lou and then headed inside. As she opened the door I was overwhelmed by the smell of hot urine and dust. We walk into the very tiny, hot and hairy apartment and see the most ancient, disgusting, and three legged couch I have ever seen. In the background I hear her saying something about how comfortable the couch is but at this point I am completely consumed with an inner conversation, no more like strategy session, I am having with myself as to how I can get out of this w/o hurting her feelings. Perhaps a false illness will do, one that would require an ER visit. Yes...ok which one ulcer, migraine, shit at this point I'd fake a heat attack if it would get me out of this bacteria farm.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb