Another trip down memory lane in Warner Robins, GA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia
March 11th 2008
Published: March 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sunrise in UnadillaSunrise in UnadillaSunrise in Unadilla

When I took Chessy out this morning, the sunrise was beautiful. This doesn't begin to paint the image I saw, but I thought you might enjoy seeing this.
Welcome to day two of my journey down memory lane. Today was forecast to be mostly cloudy with a slight chance of showers so I opted to change around my outings around. Even though an overcast sky provides a great “softbox” for macro work, I decided I wanted to visit the gardens when it was sunny.

So today I visited the Museum of Aviation at Robins AFB in Warner Robins, GA. Any of you who enjoy military history and aviation should definitely put Warner Robins (approximately 100 miles south of Atlanta) on your to visit list.

http://www.museumofaviation.org/home.htm

The two military training aircraft (well the ones they used 30 years ago when I was in pilot training ) I flew were on display. They have lots of aircraft on display outside as well as 3 buildings with aircraft and many other displays. I was a little disappointed that they had concrete barriers in front of many of the aircraft that were on display outside, but I guess that’s a sign of our times.

They have a section on Georgia aviation pioneers. As part of that section, a special area was dedicated to Macon, GA native Robert L. Scott,
Museum of AviationMuseum of AviationMuseum of Aviation

Located at Robins AFB in Warner Robins, GA.
Jr. Brigadier General, USAF (Retired). He wrote God is My Co-Pilot in 1943. It was later made into a movie (which I’m going to have to find and watch). He was a fascinating individual. Some of his accomplishments included earning all 72 merit badges on his way to Eagle Scout. He flew over 33,000 hours and was able to fly the F-16, F-15, and the B-1 many years after he retired (he was in his 80s when he flew the F-15 and B-1). He also rode a motorcycle across Europe when he was younger and walked the ENTIRE 2,000 mile length of the Great Wall of China at age 72 (after flying over the Great Wall decades earlier). I purchased his book - God is My Co-Pilot today and look forward to reading it.

A day after being reminded of the Iranian hostage crisis - which occurred while I was stationed in Germany and Jimmy Carter was President (our squadron flew the released hostages back to Germany when they were released in January 1981 after Ronald Reagan was inaugurated) I saw one of three C-130s that was specially modified to attempt a rescue operations (but was never executed). I
Outside displayOutside displayOutside display

A view of some vintage aircraft on display outside the museum buildings.
also saw displays of an SR-71 and U-2 which I saw depart from a military base in England during the hostage crisis.

I passed by the Georgia National Fairgrounds today on my way to the museum. It is the sight of The Rally this weekend and there were lots of RVs already there. I found it interesting how many “toads” I saw at the Museum of Aviation today. There were at least 6-8 vehicles with tow bars on the front of them. A couple of RVs were there as well.

Well I hope you enjoy seeing the images I took today as I recalled my time in pilot training and assignment in Germany.

Oh and my computer is back to “normal”. The 2nd memory module arrived today and my system recognizes it! It’s nice to be able to use Photoshop again.

As always, thanks for checking in and traveling along with me.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

ToadsToads
Toads

Two of the "toads" in the museum parking lot. That's Ike on the left . RVers notice the tow bar on the front of vehicles when they are traveling!
B-1B nose artB-1B nose art
B-1B nose art

The B-1B on display in front of the main entrance had this nose art. Nose art was popular on military aircraft in WWII.
AC-130 nose artAC-130 nose art
AC-130 nose art

This was nose art on an AC-130 gunship. While I was at ROTC summer camp we had an overnight out in the boonies at Eglin AFB. An AC-130 flew over our campsites illuminating the area with their HUGE spotlight.
T-37 trainerT-37 trainer
T-37 trainer

Here is a shot of a Cessna T-37 affectionally known as "Tweety Bird". I flew this in 1977 at Craig AFB in Selma, AL.
T-38T-38
T-38

Here was the 2nd aircraft I flew in pilot training at Vance AFB in Enid, OK. I went supersonic in this aircraft and flew four ship formation flights. At one time the Thunderbirds flew T-38 aircraft.
U-2U-2
U-2

Here's a U-2 on display at the museum. It was fascinating watching this aircraft take off from a military field in Europe. The U-2 lifted off like an elevator and circled the airfield as it gained altitude.
SR-71SR-71
SR-71

This SR-71 holds the world's record for fastest aircraft flight. Watching this aircraft depart on the same day I saw the U-2 take off was quite a sight. The SR-71 kicked in afterburners and immediately after liftoff (which was much further down the runway than the U-2) the pilot pointed the nose at a 45 degree angle and we watched it disappear from view.


Tot: 0.205s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 11; qc: 77; dbt: 0.1139s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb