Plains, GA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Plains
March 10th 2008
Published: March 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Downtown PlainsDowntown PlainsDowntown Plains

A view of downtown Plains.
Hello from Georgia.

I finally made it out of service and out of Florida. I spent lot of time in Florida since the first of the year, but didn’t get to do any real sightseeing. Except for the bird photography workshop in the Titusville area I didn’t capture many images.

Well today I finally got into the sightseeing and photography mode. I made a visit to Plains, GA and visited the Jimmy Carter National Historic Area. Not only did I get to explore “downtown” Plains, the train depot that was his campaign headquarters, the old Plains High School (which former President Carter attended) which is now a museum, but I also visited his boyhood farm home. In addition, I caught a glimpse of the Carter’s home since 1961 (where they currently live). I saw the Baptist, Methodist, and Lutheran churches of Plains and the church they currently attend (and where Jimmy Carter teaches Sunday School).

One of the park rangers told me to keep an eye out for the former President as he often rides his bicycle around town. No Presidential sighting to report.

Watching the video in the old Plains High School auditorium brought back many
Jimmy Carter signJimmy Carter signJimmy Carter sign

They have a big sign reminding everyone that Plains is the home of our 39th President.
memories. They showed a clip of Mr. Carter at the 1976 Democratic convention and I remember sitting and watching that live. The visit also reminded me that I shook hands with President Carter when he visited Germany in June, 1978 shortly after I arrived at Rhein Main AFB in Frankfurt, Germany.

It was nice to finally get out and play tourist after sitting around the RV dealership most of last week.

My computer memory arrived Saturday. But when I installed it, my system only recognized half of the ram memory. Monday morning I spent an hour and a half talking with tech support. Turns out the module they sent isn’t compatible with my system. After much discussion, they are overnighting a module that is identical to what is currently working on my laptop. So hopefully I’ll have my laptop back to normal Tuesday evening.

I don’t think I’ll be able to open Photoshop tonight with only one memory module (I just tried to open Adobe Bridge to check my DVD backup of images from today and it said I didn’t have enough memory) so I’ll be limited to uploading a few images I resize with Windows and
Presidential Campaign HeadquartersPresidential Campaign HeadquartersPresidential Campaign Headquarters

The train depot was not in use when Jimmy Carter ran for President. They used the depot for his campaign headquarters. The train tracks run right through downtown Plains.
they will be small.

Tuesday I plan to visit the American Camellia Society’s Massee Lane Gardens. Wednesday my goal is to take in the Museum of Aviation at Warner Robins AFB.

Hope you enjoy a few images from my visit to Plains today.

As always, thanks for checking in.

Bruce & Chessy



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Visitor's CenterVisitor's Center
Visitor's Center

This is the former Plains High School where Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter attended high school. It is now the Jimmy Carter National Historic Site Visitor's Center.
Boyhood homeBoyhood home
Boyhood home

Here's a shot of Jimmy Carter's boyhood home. The building on the right side was the Carter Commissary where the tenant farmers purchased their supplies. I hope you can see the detail between the commissary and home. Look carefully and you will see a tennis court! Yes in the late 1930's Earl Carter built his family a tennis court. The red Georgia clay made a perfect clay court.
Carter farmCarter farm
Carter farm

Here's a view of some of the buildings from the family farm.
Maranatha Baptist ChurchMaranatha Baptist Church
Maranatha Baptist Church

This is Maranatha Baptist Church where Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter worship. Former President Carter teaches a Sunday School class here when he is in town.


Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0958s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb